We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good downtown location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 S McDowell St, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Formerly Charlotte Plaza Uptown Hotel) (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Austin, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good downtown location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is nicely decorated and has a great free breakfast and outdoor pool. One thing we noticed upon check in was the throw pillow and top sheet was stained. Service was friendly but housekeeping may need to inspect work prior to arrivals. I am a Marriott gold member and we used our points for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comments are very important to us. Please accept my apologies with regards to the housekeeping issues that you have mentioned. I have taken notes and have shared it with my management team to look into and make the appropriate changes. We look forward to welcoming you back next time that you are in the Charlotte area to enjoy our newly updated and refreshed facilities.

Thank you again,
Bill Moore
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked the hotel because of how close it is was the convention center (I like to walk.). This hotel is beautiful and hip and updated on the inside. The pool area looked like a spa. The staff was super nice and the shuttle was great to have. I loved the fine selection of microbrew beers in the restaurant the great prices. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were super clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: There is freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for a wonderful review regarding your stay at my hotel which made my day. I am glad that you had an outstanding experience with us and enjoyed our facilities. Our closeness to downtown and our in-house amenities, including a full-service restaurant and bar, make it most convenient when in the Charlotte area. Thank your for recognizing my team and I will share your comments with them and thank them for their consistent service they provide daily. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you again,
Bill Moore
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay if you are in town for any event at the Mecklenberg Aquatic Center which is only one block away. Very clean, better than average buffet breakfast is included. We had friends staying at the Sheraton nearby and we thought we had the much better deal.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommending us to the future travelers. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy all Charlotte has to offer and with our hotel closeness to all the venues, including; NASCAR Hall of Fame, Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium makes us a perfect place to be in when in this area. I am happy to read that our breakfast was to your liking. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Fairfield Inn Charlotte. We look forward to your return.

Thank you again,
Bill Moore
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was wonderful. The hotel has been recently been remodeled & I think it was done nearly perfectly. It was light and cheerful. The lighting in the room and bathroom was bright but easy on the eyes. The food was good and made better by the pleasant atmosphere and efficient staff. The desk staff was as friendly and helpful as I've ever seen. I wish I could get my hands on their training program. I explored the hotel and thought it was very well designed and maintained. The exercise room was well equipped. A second washer and dryer would have been nice in the guest laundry, but at least there was one. The staff was rightfully proud of their hotel and were happy to show it off. This hotel is my idea of perfection.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for a wonderful review and a five star rating regarding your stay at my hotel. It is always pleasing for a General Manager to read that a guest was very satisfied with their accommodations, clean rooms and facilities. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to make your stay a most pleasant one with our clean facilities and helpful staff. I will pass on your wonderful comments to them and let them know their efforts are not going unnoticed.

Thank you again,
Bill Moore
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okatie, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have traveled a lot and my husband has traveled more that me and he and I both agreed that this is absolutely the cleanest place we have ever stayed. I don't know who the manager is, but he runs a tight ship and everyone there seems to enjoy their work. Even the public areas were spotless. The bar/restaurant was a pretty good place to eat in the evening and the hot breakfast was fresh. Will be sure and stay there again when we are in Charlotte.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quite area or floor when you check-in. We did because a lot of volleyball players we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for such a terrific review regarding your recent stay in the Charlotte area which made my day. There is no greater compliment for a General Manager to hear that we are the "cleanest hotel" that you and your husband have ever stayed in. We are happy that we were able to impress you with our property and staffs' friendly services. I am glad that our hot breakfast was to your liking. Our chef takes pride in the quality of the food he prepares daily. Thank your for recognizing my team and I will share your comments with them and thank them for their consistent service they provide daily. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you again,
Bill Moore
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have had a family nightmare at nearby Carolinas Medical Center. The staff at this Fairfield Inn made our stress so much more manageable. They "rolled" rooms over for us so that various family members could check in and out but always know they had a room. They remembered us each morning and asked about our patient. They were patient with us and kind. The room was immaculate. They gave us the quietest room they could find on an upper level in a corner. I ate in the bar on two occasions, quite late but was always treated with kindness and courtesy. The food was good and my privacy was respected. We will be staying here again when we return. Our family saga is not over. Thank goodness we know we can find a home here.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and ask for one not reserved for kids' swim team activities, etc. Lots of te...
See more room tips
Green Features: They certainly seem to do the best they can. I have no complaints.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown during the medical procedure of your loved one. It is always pleasing for a General Manager to read that a guest was very satisfied with their accommodations, clean rooms and I am happy to read that my staff took good care of you and your family.I will share your wonderful feedback with my team which shall encourage them and lets them know their efforts do not go unnoticed. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again,
Bill Moore
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown

"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

used my Marriott points to stay here for 2 nights during NCAA Tourney. Hotel is maybe a half mile walk to any restaurants, arena and bars. Shuttle will take you anywhere within a few mile radius so that is convenient.

Check in was very easy and they had my key ready when I arrived. I had a package delivered before my arrival and it was sitting right on the desk waiting for me. Hotel has that new car smell and look to it as they spent a lot of money to upgrade it recently. The pool area is really cool with lots of chairs, fire pit and lit up fountains. This is only 1 of 3 Fairfield Inns that has a restaurant/bar. Service during the day was awesome. very friendly and on top of everything. At night it was a different story. service was lacking and just not overly friendly. I think hotel staff know that people are traveling and a little bit of chit chat goes a long way. Also, this hotel did a complete makeover but the bar/restaurant area at night was WAYYYYY to bright ( everyone said it ) and didnt match the mood of the outdoor area of the lobby makeover. reminded me of a cafeteria. Great beer list, wine list lacking, food menu was REALLY over the top and I wish I was staying longer to try more things.

Room ( #925 ) was upgraded and decorated nicely. was small but fit a king bed and was comfy for two people. Bathroom had some hairs from previous person still on the floor and the shower doors let a lot of water during my showers even though closed as tight as possible.

Changes would be the lighting in the bar at night and if you are going to bring airline employees to the airport that service should be offered to everyone.

overall this place is nice and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We value our loyal guests and we thank you for making Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown your preferred hotel choice. It was such a pleasure to read you enjoyed our warm, personal services and comfortable accommodations. I am so glad that you liked our updated facilities and your experience at the restaurant was fantastic and that the food was to your liking. However, I am sorry if you felt that our service was lacking at some point of time and also apologize for the housekeeping issues you had in your room. I certainly look forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again,
Bill Moore
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown

Address: 201 S McDowell St, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Formerly Charlotte Plaza Uptown Hotel)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include a pool and exercise room. Our hotel in Uptown Charlotte offers locally craft beer and southern favorites at our on-site restaurant and pub, Q-Tavern! Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown also offers state of the art and innovated meeting spaces. With over 9600 square feet of event space in our Studio 220 facility, our team of meeting and catering professionals are here to help fashion any event you need. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. We hope to see you soon in Uptown Charlotte! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.