We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 South Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28217   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rates from $119!
Ranked #54 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Decided to take two days to drive back from visiting family in Atlanta. We stopped in Charlotte because it's half way home. I originally thought this hotel was in the city center, but found out it was a bit south of the city. But that ended up being OK. The suite was great, clean and soundproof. I needed a good nights' sleep and got one. We had to call the maintenance person three times, once because the bath spigot wouldn't turn on; then the TV wasn't set for an X-Box hook up, then the toilet kept running. Each time the guy fixed everything quickly and efficiently.

I got room service and my order was incorrect, but they quickly made it right. The food was really good.

We enjoyed our overnight stay very much. I asked for extended stay and they didn't charge me extra. I always have had good experiences at Embassy Suites!

Room Tip: Make reservations and ask for the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    173
    87
    42
    33
See reviews for
193
92
16
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have read some of the other reviews and have had a totally different experience. This is a VERY nice hotel first off. I found it clean, the staff is very nice and helpful, the rooms are large and comfortable. I love Embassy Suites and find them very consistent in their product. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again! Don't let the bad reviews scare you off, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I have stayed in various Embassy suites all over the U.S and this is by far the worst one. We booked a two night stay over the July 4th weekend. The room they first put us in had a strong musty odor similar to a wet basement. They then moved us to another room on a different floor. This room had a worst odor than the first one. I spoke to the desk clerk but there were no more rooms available. The hotel was crowded and full of some suspicious looking people. They have an armed guard there walking around so that should tell you something right there. The hotel clerk seemed annoyed that she had to try to accomadate us. Evidently she missed the friendly customer service class of her training. I called the Embassy Suites in nearby Concord and booked a room there. They gave me a great rate to help me out and even upgraded our room to a corner suite when we arrived. We have stayed at the Concord Embassy Suites before and its always first rate. I should of just booked that one from the get go. I strongly recommend NOT to stay at the Embassy Suites Charlotte. Stay at the Embassy in Concord!!

Room Tip: terrible service and disgusting smelly rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I booked two rooms at this Embassy Suites to spend 2 days in Charlotte. The staff was very friendly at the front desk and at the nightly reception. However, the rooms didn't feel very clean. Both rooms smelled very musty and like mildew. The room my husband and I stayed in had a cockroach the size of my pinky and my son was scared to go back in the room until my husband attacked it with his shoe. When I first entered my room, there were pieces of cereal on top of our television set from previous guests (I guess this was what the cockroach had been munching on!). The bathroom floor had dirt/stains on it and it remained that way the entire stay. The tub had mildew in it. I had to request washclothes from the front desk at 11:30 pm, because the maid didn't leave any in our room, only towels and hand towels. I was told they would send housekeeping right up. At midnight, I called again and asked where the washclothes were, and finally at 12:15 am I received some! The first night we stayed the evening reception was great and well-stocked. The next night the snacks were horrible- the cheese for the nachos was so watery it looked like colored water and was inedible. Overall, I have been to alot nicer Embassy Suites with alot cleaner rooms. I got a good price for this stay, so I chose it, but I am not sure about next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The room was clean and above average. The bed was absolutely one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on - divine.

Now, for the negative. I was expecting to have a nice selection of channels on the TV, not so. I was looking forward to catching up on some shows but did not get to watch them because of the limited amount of stations. Also, I was surprised you have to pay for local calls if you use the phone in your room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hi. Thanks so much for posting your review of our hotel. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I'm happy to hear it was mostly positive but did read your comments on our channel selection. I wanted to mention we will be upgrading our channel selection this year as well as adding HD content. Hopefully, we'll have in place before you return the next time you're in Charlotte! Take care, Kevin Plucker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for a week in June. The hotel is very clean and accomidating. The breakfast is wonderful and I found the managers reception very relaxing. I think what makes this hotel is the staff. The are very polite and helpful. The restaurant Omaha Steakhouse was wonderful as well. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hello. Thank you very much for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. I was very happy to hear it was a positive experience. I hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Cordially,
Kevin Plucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My family stayed in this hotel as we were traveling between destinations for the July 4th holiday. My husband is a Hilton Honors Diamond member and was thrilled that he received an upgrade to the presidential suite! It was fabulous for our family - - large den area and huge 8 seater table with wet bar area. The view of downtown was fabulous! The suite was shaped like a V with the bedrooms at the end of each side, so there was plenty of privacy when traveling with kids. The shower in the master bath was AMAZING with 5 shower heads to massage you!

The hotel was centrally located and easy to get to with a great number of restaurants within a short drive. There is also an Omaha Steak place in the hotel that had a decent menu with reasonably priced kids meals. The morning breakfast was good with a wide variety of foods.

The indoor pool was much bigger than most Embassy Suites pools and had a hot tub and outdoor private sundeck.

This is an older hotel, but it is well cleaned and maintained. I noticed it had a shuttle, but we did not have need for it. I appreciated that they posted signs by the elevators to remind people coming in late in the evening to keep the noise level down after 10 p.m. We were there at the same time as a youth group and a family reunion but slept great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCharlotte, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hello. Thanks so much for your nice comments on our hotel! I appreciate your feedback and have shared your review with the team. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you return.
Sincerely,
Kevin Plucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte

Address: 4800 South Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charlotte
Charlotte Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.