We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but no wifi in the rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park to your Saves list
Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West W.T. Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262 (Mineral Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping
Ranked #61 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice but no wifi in the rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was a very nice hotel, but having no wifi in the rooms was a bit disappointing. We checked in and went to our room which smelled like cigarettes. I called the front desk to alert them and they moved us to a new room right away. The room was super clean and the bed super comfy. The pillows were like a little slice of heaven. They were very soft yet provided support. Wifi was only available in the lobby, which also contained three computers with internet for guest use. We only stayed one night but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
8
5
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Came here last minute after a terrible experience with another hotel. They got me in & came to my room to check on me. The room was spotless, Ronnie has wonderful customer care skills. This is my new Charlotte hotel of choice

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

Ate at the bar, the food was good. Room was very clean until I stumbled on my balcony. Guess the last person that stayed in my room likes to smoke weed. Tons of left overs. I ended up throwing it all away. I'm high on life! Maids check to see if balconies are clean as well.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I work with a band so I get to this hotel every year. I'm never dissapointed but they have updated their facility so I wanted to update my review.
The front desk staff is amazing. Not just with my easy-breezy check in for a group of 12... but seeing how they interact with other guests. Not only are they receptive to your needs... they're proactive in anticipating what you might need. In my case, they called to see when we were arriving and then had the rooms & keys ready. They also had a place to park the bus... and a back up plan in case the lot was full.
Outside the hotel there are several restaurant options and shopping at the shopping center across the street.
I will stay here whenever possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed here 12/6/11-12/7/11. Pretty average hotel.

The freshly decorated lobby is nice and welcoming but leads you to quite the disappointment once you get to your room. While nice and bright, it's much too bright to sit down and enjoy a cocktail though. The "bar / restaurant" consisted of a fast-food-esque counter and just didn't seem very inviting. We skipped it all together upon check-in and didn't even think of stopping for a drink before or after we went out for dinner.

The rooms themselves haven't been upgraded in, what, 10-15 years?? Not a big issue. Like I said, very much average. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Had some trouble connecting to the internet via a network cable (no WiFi.) Once I established the connection though, it was fine.

We were in the area for a mid-morning meeting so I slept-in but was awakened by the housekeeping service at about 8:10 am. They weren't knocking on my door just yet, just noisy enough in the hallway to wake me up. Then, as I was brushing my teeth, they entered the room uninvited. I'm assuming they knocked but I didn't hear them over the faucet running. (Strange, since their voices in the hallway awoke me 10 minutes earlier.) Luckily, I had the door chain locked and no harm was done... I also have to mention that there was a major lack of hot water in the shower. A morning rush on the water heaters is one thing but needing to turn the knob as "hot" as it would go and having it be barely tolerable is another thing. All at about 8:30 am.

Lastly, there wasn't a coffee maker in the room, so, after getting ready and packing my bags in the car, I went back in to get a cup of coffee from the lobby and much to my surprise, this was not complimentary. I paid $2.17 for a cup at the fancy fast-food-like counter, but skipped the $7.45 breakfast sandwich.

In conclusion, this hotel is what it is: average. It's relatively clean, feels safe enough, and is close to several chain restaurants so you aren't forced to eat in the lobby. It's also relatively close to the Interstate though my colleague and I both thought it strange that gas stations were tough to come by (for whatever that's worth...).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, close to dining and shopping, the ikea store down the road was amazing. Wifi would have been nice if avabale

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, MT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I have never written a hotel review, although I have stayed in many through the years. The bed was comfortable, but this hotel has almost no amenities. No complimentary breakfast, no vending machines (except for next to lobby), no microwave, no fridge, and no hair dryer. That's right, no hair dryer.

When I got back home, I noticed that my credit card had been charged more than the balance on the receipt I was given upon departure. When I called to ask why there was a discrepancy, I was informed that this was a deposit just in case I bought breakfast or something from the vending area in the lobby. Or, she said it might be a deposit in case I smoked in the room. She said I would receive my surprise "deposit" back within 10 days. Bizarre and completely unacceptable to me. No more Marriott for this traveler!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park

Address: 333 West W.T. Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard hotel in Charlotte, NC is located in University Research Park, a 3200 acre business park, home to the area's growing business community; IBM, TIAA-Cref, AREVA, McKesson and Allstate call the city home. In addition, this Charlotte area hotel is centrally located to UNC Charlotte, the convention center and uptown. For race day, our Charlotte Motor Speedway hotel is conveniently just 7 miles from the track. Whether here for business, leisure or to visit family, our UNCC hotel provides well designed rooms and convenient amenities including The Bistro and free high-speed internet. Stay in shape with our fitness center or relax in our outdoor pool. Planning a group function? Our UNC Charlotte hotel offers 1,250 square feet of flexible meeting space for seminars, reunions and events. Visit the Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park today and see why the blend of services and amenities make it a top choice among hotels in Charlotte for business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Courtyard
Charlotte Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Charlotte University Research Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.