We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6023 Park South Drive, Charlotte, NC 28210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #45 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed in the hotel with my brother for one night. Staff was friendly, room was clean, overall a good experience. The location is in the middle of South Park with a lot of possibilities to eat.

Would stay there again when I am on a road trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    55
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
17
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a big hotel, many rooms are far from the lobby. The building and floor plan seem to be 20yrs+- old as do the office building nearby. It was far from my biz location but was the nearest with a room. I usually prefer Courtyards, however as the mid-priced option. This one has the new lobby, with bistro and lounge. The rooms are dated, especially the bathrooms, but have the new bedding and other decor.

Couple of complaints, there was some peeling popcorn texture in my room, and a 1"+ gap under the door!! (See photo). This is a huge privacy concern that should be addressed.

Overall an average experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLTEX, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the hotel and we strive to consistently meet our guest's expectations. We are very excited to be receiving our guest room renovation that will be completed by January 31, 2013. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went here with my husband for a weekend getaway. The The Southpark Mall is less than a block away. Great shopping if you want Upscale shops. The hotel was clean, updated, with no visible signs of wear and tear. The Beds were comfortable but not fantastic for the hotel rating. Wonderful Mexican restaurant located right outside the back door of the hotel (Pacos Tacos and Tequila.) The only complaint is the pillows that you use to sleep on are fiber filled, lumpy and small. Would expect a better pillow for the hotel rating it uses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for the past two years whenever I visit Charlotte. It find it very comfortable and convenient. The staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the lobby amenities are exactly what a traveler needs. It has been perfect for me on the occasions I have traveled with family and those times I am alone.

Room Tip: This hotel has rooms that overlook the courtyard and there is no extra charge. Rooms next to the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is just your average courtyard, nothing special. We stayed here in July , had 2 rooms, one a suite and the other a king. Front desk was very nice, and was able to keep me in my suite after i decided to extend my stay. I have stayed here several times, and fortunately this was much better than the last time , when i had to listen to a drunk man next door screaming for hours, and his female associate banging on the door for hours. Thankfully the front desk finally called the police and the man was removed and my room was complimentary for that night. Would stay here again as the location is great .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I rarely write reviews, but had to warn travelers about this hotel. I recently attended the Democratic Convention and they picked this hotel for our delegation. It was really old, hadn't been updated since it was built - or so this is how it appeared. The exterior roof over the driveway was literally falling apart, and it was clear that maintenance hadn't been done; ever. Marriott is usually very good, quite predictable. Not this one.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanna N, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our property. We hope you enjoyed your time in Charlotte for the Democratic Convention. Our hotel recently went through an extensive lobby renovation that was completed in April 2011. Our lobby renovations main feature is our new Courtyard Bistro that provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our recent renovation also included our GoBoard which provides access to the latest news, weather, and even airport information.

During your stay, our porte-cochere did sustain some damage. Unfortunately a tour bus that was operating during the Democratic National Convention accidentally hit our building that caused damage to our exterior roof. We do apologize about the inconvenience during your stay. As of September 11, 2012 this issue has been fixed.

In December of this year, our hotel will be going through another renovation to update our guest rooms. Our mission here at the Charlotte Southpark Courtyard is to provide complete guest satisfaction in our quality facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Our room was with breakfast included. It was a grat value. We paid extra 10 dollars for the room. We have 2 adults and 2 kids. If we had to pay directly, it would have been over 30 dollars. The room is clean. Due to heavy rain, Charlotte was flooded all over including the south park mall. The hotel lobby had 5 inches of water. But they cleaned up so quickly, we were very impressed how quickly they took care of the situation. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark

Address: 6023 Park South Drive, Charlotte, NC 28210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Less than twenty minutes away is the Charlotte airport (CLT) and within ten minutes is Uptown Charlotte, Historic Charlotte and the Charlotte Convention Center. The SouthPark Mall, Bank of America Stadium, and Charlotte Bobcats Arena are also within close proximity to our Charlotte hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Courtyard Charlotte Southpark
Charlotte Courtyard
Charlotte Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.