We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6023 Park South Drive, Charlotte, NC 28210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #41 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went here with my husband for a weekend getaway. The The Southpark Mall is less than a block away. Great shopping if you want Upscale shops. The hotel was clean, updated, with no visible signs of wear and tear. The Beds were comfortable but not fantastic for the hotel rating. Wonderful Mexican restaurant located right outside the back door of the hotel (Pacos Tacos and Tequila.) The only complaint is the pillows that you use to sleep on are fiber filled, lumpy and small. Would expect a better pillow for the hotel rating it uses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
21
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for the past two years whenever I visit Charlotte. It find it very comfortable and convenient. The staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the lobby amenities are exactly what a traveler needs. It has been perfect for me on the occasions I have traveled with family and those times I am alone.

Room Tip: This hotel has rooms that overlook the courtyard and there is no extra charge. Rooms next to the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is just your average courtyard, nothing special. We stayed here in July , had 2 rooms, one a suite and the other a king. Front desk was very nice, and was able to keep me in my suite after i decided to extend my stay. I have stayed here several times, and fortunately this was much better than the last time , when i had to listen to a drunk man next door screaming for hours, and his female associate banging on the door for hours. Thankfully the front desk finally called the police and the man was removed and my room was complimentary for that night. Would stay here again as the location is great .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I rarely write reviews, but had to warn travelers about this hotel. I recently attended the Democratic Convention and they picked this hotel for our delegation. It was really old, hadn't been updated since it was built - or so this is how it appeared. The exterior roof over the driveway was literally falling apart, and it was clear that maintenance hadn't been done; ever. Marriott is usually very good, quite predictable. Not this one.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanna N, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our property. We hope you enjoyed your time in Charlotte for the Democratic Convention. Our hotel recently went through an extensive lobby renovation that was completed in April 2011. Our lobby renovations main feature is our new Courtyard Bistro that provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our recent renovation also included our GoBoard which provides access to the latest news, weather, and even airport information.

During your stay, our porte-cochere did sustain some damage. Unfortunately a tour bus that was operating during the Democratic National Convention accidentally hit our building that caused damage to our exterior roof. We do apologize about the inconvenience during your stay. As of September 11, 2012 this issue has been fixed.

In December of this year, our hotel will be going through another renovation to update our guest rooms. Our mission here at the Charlotte Southpark Courtyard is to provide complete guest satisfaction in our quality facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Our room was with breakfast included. It was a grat value. We paid extra 10 dollars for the room. We have 2 adults and 2 kids. If we had to pay directly, it would have been over 30 dollars. The room is clean. Due to heavy rain, Charlotte was flooded all over including the south park mall. The hotel lobby had 5 inches of water. But they cleaned up so quickly, we were very impressed how quickly they took care of the situation. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

It's clean and the staff is friendly. The hotel is an old "Howard Johnson" type hotel refurbished w/ comfortable mid-price hotel furnishings. Note: there is no refrigerators, safes, or mini-bars in the rooms. It's comfortable and quiet, not luxurious and lively.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here for Heroes Con 2012. We had a problem with our reservation, but the front desk helped us out and got us into our room. Wonderful bed, flat screen and large bathroom. Very quiet. Had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark

Address: 6023 Park South Drive, Charlotte, NC 28210
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#38 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Less than twenty minutes away is the Charlotte airport (CLT) and within ten minutes is Uptown Charlotte, Historic Charlotte and the Charlotte Convention Center. The SouthPark Mall, Bank of America Stadium, and Charlotte Bobcats Arena are also within close proximity to our Charlotte hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Courtyard Charlotte Southpark
Charlotte Courtyard
Charlotte Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.