We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6023 Park South Drive, Charlotte, NC 28210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #42 of 168 hotels in Charlotte
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I rarely write reviews, but had to warn travelers about this hotel. I recently attended the Democratic Convention and they picked this hotel for our delegation. It was really old, hadn't been updated since it was built - or so this is how it appeared. The exterior roof over the driveway was literally falling apart, and it was clear that maintenance hadn't been done; ever. Marriott is usually very good, quite predictable. Not this one.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanna N, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our property. We hope you enjoyed your time in Charlotte for the Democratic Convention. Our hotel recently went through an extensive lobby renovation that was completed in April 2011. Our lobby renovations main feature is our new Courtyard Bistro that provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our recent renovation also included our GoBoard which provides access to the latest news, weather, and even airport information.

During your stay, our porte-cochere did sustain some damage. Unfortunately a tour bus that was operating during the Democratic National Convention accidentally hit our building that caused damage to our exterior roof. We do apologize about the inconvenience during your stay. As of September 11, 2012 this issue has been fixed.

In December of this year, our hotel will be going through another renovation to update our guest rooms. Our mission here at the Charlotte Southpark Courtyard is to provide complete guest satisfaction in our quality facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
17
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Our room was with breakfast included. It was a grat value. We paid extra 10 dollars for the room. We have 2 adults and 2 kids. If we had to pay directly, it would have been over 30 dollars. The room is clean. Due to heavy rain, Charlotte was flooded all over including the south park mall. The hotel lobby had 5 inches of water. But they cleaned up so quickly, we were very impressed how quickly they took care of the situation. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

It's clean and the staff is friendly. The hotel is an old "Howard Johnson" type hotel refurbished w/ comfortable mid-price hotel furnishings. Note: there is no refrigerators, safes, or mini-bars in the rooms. It's comfortable and quiet, not luxurious and lively.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here for Heroes Con 2012. We had a problem with our reservation, but the front desk helped us out and got us into our room. Wonderful bed, flat screen and large bathroom. Very quiet. Had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here to visit friends and its updated over last year in the front lounge area with a modern bistro style restaurant with healthy food choices and a gym with free weights. Rooms are atill a bit dated. Small resort style pool area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at this property for 3 nights on a weekend. The property looks maintained, it's in a wonderful area full of high end dining and shopping. The rooms were good size for no more than 3 or 4 comfortably, nice balcony and the food was delicious. The roomservice was wonderful, whenever we needed shampoo, more towels or whatever. Front desk, needs some work. Young people working who just had mediocre communication skills. The ONE thing that really got me, was they dont serve breakfast until 7:30 on the weekend. 7:30! People are up and on the way out before then, so maybe start it sooner and extend the hours. Complimentary newspapers, coffee, internet and printer, fax service, which I personally used. This location is more for overnight or business. Overall, worth the stay, but should be priced better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Courtyard used to be a brand name you could depend on for quality. However, in recent years, Courtyard has become the brand within Marriot that has received the most neglect.

This Courtyard falls into that category. This hotel has major issues for anyone that would consider this hotel for business or pleasure that wants anything better than low quality for the price.

Biggest issue: Internet / wi-fi speeds. Speeds of this hotel are 0.4 mbps and lower. It regularly took 10-15 seconds per page to load, OFTEN 30-60 seconds per page. This is totally unacceptable. This issue has been reported on Trip Advisor for YEARS and yet there has been no improvement. This shows serious disregard for customers by management.

The layout of courtyard rooms was 'updated' a couple of years ago and the bed was moved off the wall adjoining the next room to the wall adjoining the closet. Problem is now the TV is directly to the left of the bed, forcing you to have to turn you're heard almost at a 90 degree angle to watch TV. This becomes extremely uncomfortable after about 15 minutes.

CONS
TV selection is poor, about 40 channels - mostly news and sports. They don't even have the weather channel, one of the most important channels for those travelling.
As part of the 'update' the bedding was changed - it is now extremely thing bedding. If you like to keep the room cool and use the bedding to keep warm, you are out of lock.
No microwave in room.
Bed is a very unsupportive mattress - like a giant sponge.
No free continental breakfast. Luckily, there is a Starbucks, Panera Bread Company, and Original Pancake House a short drive from the hotel.

PROS
Location: The hotel is close to a small-medium high end shopping mall, restaurants, grocery store, and movie theaters, and is not too far from uptown (downtown) Charlotte. The area around the hotel is office park and residential, so the area is quiet.

Bottom Line:
If you are a business traveler or leisure wanting a modern hotel with good quality internet and TV, do not stay here - this hotel will not meet your needs.
But, if you are simply looking for a basic hotel for a night's sleep, in a good location, and don't expect much from the hotel - this hotel will be fine.

Marriot needs to decide soon, though, what the Courtyard brand will represent in the future. Courtyard has become the brand of neglect within the Marriot family and not deserving of the Marriot name.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanna N, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Paul,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We always use our guest’s feedback to try to better our hotel to better service our guests. We have been made aware of our internet connectivity issues. We have been in the process of getting this fixed, as we know how important it is for our guests to remain connected & productive while they are away. By early July, our internet connectivity speed will be 10 times faster that it currently is.

Our lobby recently was renovated in April 2011 to include the new Courtyard Bistro, designed with the business traveler in mind. The Courtyard Bistro has been designed to give travelers a space that provides the flexibility to work, relax, eat, drink & socialize all in one spot. The Courtyard brand does not offer a free continental breakfast, but the Bistro gives our guests the options purchase a variety of breakfast items ranging from Starbuck’s Coffee to French toast that is made fresh just for you! In addition to the Bistro, we also have The Market that is available 24/7 for guests to purchase supplies, drinks & food items. The Market is also complete with a microwave that is always available for guest use.

The Courtyard SouthPark will be undergoing another renovation beginning early 2013 to update our guest rooms. This renovation will be complete with all new room furnishings.

Paul, thank you again for your feedback. We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Charlotte, as we are in the process of fixing these areas that are critical to our guest’s satisfaction.

Best Regards,

Alanna Nice
Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte Southpark Hotel
Courtyard Charlotte
Courtyard Charlotte Southpark
Charlotte Courtyard
Charlotte Marriott
Address: 6023 Park South Drive, Charlotte, NC 28210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#57 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Less than twenty minutes away is the Charlotte airport (CLT) and within ten minutes is Uptown Charlotte, Historic Charlotte and the Charlotte Convention Center. The SouthPark Mall, Bank of America Stadium, and Charlotte Bobcats Arena are also within close proximity to our Charlotte hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte SouthPark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.