We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best BBQ I've ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of mac's Speed Shop

mac's Speed Shop
2511 South Boulevard, Charlotte, NC 28203 (Dilworth)
704-522-6227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,966 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dilworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best BBQ I've ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was in Charlotte for the NASCAR race with my wife and wanted authentic North Carolina BBQ, the hotel recommended Mac's as it was close. Great decor, AWESOME food, just an all around fun place to go for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    194
    68
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great Beer specials!! Good bar food and great waitresses. 50%Military discounts if you are in uniform.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great choice for food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was visiting a friend in Charlotte and she recommended it and we were happy with the choice. Food was good. Service was great. Great value as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Macs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Luv their fish sandwich and a cold beer. Fun and relaxing. Mixed crowd of business people and regulars which makes it more interesting. Good service from friendly staff

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Meal and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went to Mac's Speed Shop for lunch with my wife and we were very happy with the food and the service. We ordered a small combo plate with brisket, pulled pork and macaroni & cheese with a side order of wings and a small salad. The food was very flavorful and our server was very attentive and friendly. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for some damn good barbecue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mac's Speed Shop also viewed

 

Been to mac's Speed Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mac's Speed Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.