We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked one off my bucket list.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Price's Chicken Coop

Price's Chicken Coop
1614 Camden Rd, Charlotte, NC 28203-4756
704-333-9866
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,939 restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Checked one off my bucket list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had been wanting to try this place since I saw it on TV years ago. It was sooo worth the wait. Restaurant was not hard to find, an easy exit and entrance to major roads. Take out only so we sat in the car on the side of the street eating chicken out of a box. The lady that waited on us was so helpful. When she found out it was our first time she made several recommendations, all were spot on. Chicken was fried to profection and stayed hot through the entire meal. Potato salad was good and hushpuppies were wonderful. I've heard the lines can get long but we were a little early for lunch so we walked right in, but they did have a steady stream of business. I'm ready to go back now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    144
    36
    30
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charlotte Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This spot has been around forever and for good reason. It is not much to look at and provides no seating, but the fried chicken is amazing and in the end that is all that matters. The lines move fast and nearly everything they serve is good. It is a Charlotte institution that any traveler must try.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Twenty nine years later, still the best fried chicken I've ever eaten!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I first came to the Chicken Coop in 1985 and since then always dreamed how good it was. A family member recently moved to Charlotte and I came to visit. To my surprise, The Chciken Coop is still here and the chicken is better than ever! It is take out only and finger licking good, along with the sides. I have now gotten my family members living in the area addicted to the chicken!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Southern Fried Chicken in Charlotte, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Price's is take out only and a Charlotte Landmark. It has been featured a couple of times on Food Network "Best of" shows and it deserves the recognition. The plate comes with tater-tots, slaw and a roll which are very good. The Chicken is always hot and crispy. Make sure to stop and try this when you are in town. You will we glad you did.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW, that is really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

There are a handful of Charlotte restaurants where your first bite elicits the reaction above. Price's is of of them and it happens every time I go there. Old school, never changes, best fried chicken. Go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Price's Chicken Coop also viewed

 

Been to Price's Chicken Coop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Price's Chicken Coop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.