We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Charlotte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Cormick & Schmick's

Mc Cormick & Schmick's
200 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Third Ward)
(704) 377-0201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mc Cormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 2,008 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $31 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Third Ward
Cross street: 4th Street and Tryon Street
Transit: Light rail closest stop is 3rd street. 2 1/2 blocks away.
Description: The menu at McCormick & Schmick’s is printed twice daily and features more than 30 varieties of fresh fish and seafood locally to being flown in from both U.S. and international waters. Other menu highlights include tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties to tempt any palate. Centrally located in Uptown Charlotte at the corner of 4th and Tryon Streets, McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant is just minutes from Time Warner Cable Arena, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, and Bank of America Stadium.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best food in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The crab soup is a must. The Sea Bass was excellent. I was very surprised by this place. Definitely worth the money.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    23
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I don't think so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Highly over priced, service is great but the cost for what you get is not worth it

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good service but food was so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Wonderful service but the food was so so. The waiter was just extremley polite but I found the food to be nothing special for the price

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Food, Small Portions for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The free valet parking makes it convenient to not have to deal with Uptown parking. The food tasted good, but was rather pricey for the portions. For two people to eat plus one alcoholic beverage each cost about $103 with tip. I got the McCormick's Trio which included 2 forms of shrimp and grilled salmon. I was almost embarassed when the server set the plate down that I was paying so much for so little food. The piece of salmon was maybe 2.5 inches each way and the shrimp were rather small. The potatoes and veggies that come with it make the plate seem full. We probably could have eaten food that tasted just as good for half the price elsewhere.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Seafood worthy a second trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My travel companion wanted to eat seafood, so we walked to Mc Cormick's from the Westin. It was later, about 7:45, and the restaurant was not that busy. We were immediately seated. The calamari appetizer was a good sized portion and fried properly: not greasy. I had the wasbi ahi tuna, which was also a perfect portion and well done. When none of the desserts fit my needs, I asked for a small bowl of ice cream with some chocolate sauce... and was rewarded a very large bowl of ice cream and chocolate sauce. The staff was efficient and congenial... the biggest compliment I give to a restaurant is that I will return... which I will do in the case of Mc Cormick & Schmick's in Charlotte.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Cormick & Schmick's also viewed

 

Been to Mc Cormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Cormick & Schmick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.