We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little far out, but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve

Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve
2900 Rocky River Rd, Charlotte, NC 28213
704-598-8857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 58 Attractions in Charlotte
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little far out, but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It's not far for folks living on the East side, but if you're center city or beyond, it can be a haul. It's a great park! Lots of awesome trails, lakes, playgrounds and activities to partake in. It's worth the drive, and easily a fun day adventure.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good freebie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This park offers easy hiking trails that are very kid-friendly. We also liked the outdoor play area with the whimsical treehouse and the xylophones. It's a great place to spend a pleasant afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place! Must return here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a hidden gem in our area I had previously never visited. We took a hike with a naturalist and really enjoyed it. The trails are well marked and we'll return again. There are many places to play with a family.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Park For All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

As a recent northern who moved to Charlotte, I was seeking out and needed a nearby place to go hiking and reconnect with nature. The Reedy Creek Nature preserve is such a place and much more with picnic areas to rent, a dog park, lakes/ponds, places to play volleyball and basketball, fishing pier and a good network of trails. I hiked the Umbrella Tree and Big Oak trails which is about a 2 mile loop with some slight up and downhill sections. The trails are very well maintained and marked and both of these trails start from behind the Nature Center. If it has recently rained before you hit the trails, hiking sticks are recommended since wet leaves can be very slippery. I was pleasantly surprised to find a short wooden staircase on one small incline. Having hiked all over the US, Europe and in southern Africa, my standards and expectations are high and while you won't enjoy mountain and valley views you do experience the nature of the Piedmont close to metropolitan Charlotte. I will definitely return to enjoy the various seasons, plant life and to look for birds and wildlife. The Preserve is easy to get to from either 485 or back roads. Enjoy your visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love the Nature Preserve!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a great place to go for a free outing! It was a very relaxing place and the animals inside the nature preserve were awesome to look at. The trails were nice and clearly marked, but not too difficult to maneuver. If you are a beginner hiker, I definitely recommend these trails! I also loved that you can rent picnic areas for different events - they even have indoor areas you can rent out! Highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.