We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel / Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209 (Barclay Downs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Retail Therapy Package
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel / Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel. The service is excellent. You are greeted warmly upon arrival. I've stayed twice while on business. While checking in, they poured my colleagues and I each a glass of complimentary wine. The interior courtyard is really nice. The food in the restaurant is very good. The entire hotel has a really pleasant smell. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very up to date. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    145
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
125
136
31
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Standard hotel. Room was comfortable and clean. Bed and bedding was very comfortable. Bath was spacious. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was tasty. Situated in bustling area near shopping and businesses. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We appreciate you recommending our property after such a delightful visit. It sounds like you had an enjoyable and restful stay in our hotel. We will share your positive comments with our team and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Renaissance Charlotte Southpark this past weekend (April 17th-19th) for my daughter's 7th birthday. We booked the American Girl/Everything Pink package for our stay. We could not have asked for friendlier, more welcoming staff and beautiful accomodations. Our daughter was treated so well from the moment we walked through the doors. The staff was wonderful all weekend, even remembering that it was my daughter's birthday and always making sure to talk to her. The room was also perfect, my daughter couldn't believe it was all for her! The beds were so comfortable. Breakfast was great with a very nice selection. The indoor pool was warm, never crowded. We weren't able to visit the courtyard due to private parties both nights but we had a nice view from our room and it looked very inviting. The mall was just across the street, within walking distance. We had a great trip and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are so happy to hear that your daughter enjoyed the Everything Pink American Girl package for her birthday! Our Ambassadors have so much fun with our American Girl guests and it is a special treat to hear about the experience. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and talking so highly about our hotel and attentive staff. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I visited Charlotte just because my wife had never been there and I'd said that I'd always been interested in maybe living there. After having an unpleasant stay at the Holiday Inn in downtown Charlotte for one night, we booked the remainder of our stay at the Renaissance after seeing multiple great reviews on Trip Advisor. They did not steer us wrong. As a Marriott member, they checked me in under my account and when I arrived, they had already pre-checked me in and had my key ready. I walked up to the counter and they said, "Thank you you and here are your room keys.". My check in literally took all of about 20 seconds. It was AWESOME!

The room itself was incredibly clean, comfortable and quiet. Everything that we have expected to receive from a Renaissance hotel. The staff was courteous and helpful and the overall presentation of the hotel was updated, fresh, fun and just felt comfortable. No "ick" factor to be found anywhere.

The location of the hotel was great. Close to downtown. Quick to get to Carowinds. Close to shopping, restaurants and all the things that you would want to get to. If we're in Charlotte again, then we're staying here!

On a side note...parking is free in the garage. However, if you want free wi-fi, then you need to be a Mariott rewards member.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are happy to hear that we were able to turn your trip around and make your time in Charlotte such an enjoyable visit. Our Front Desk Ambassadors are very attentive and committed to our guests when it comes to providing the best experience possible. They will appreciate you acknowledging their hard work and friendly demeanor during your time with us. It’s great to hear that the hotel met your expectations and it sounds like you were able to explore a decent amount of Charlotte while staying in SouthPark. Thank you for reviewing our property and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were attending a wedding and this location was one of two hotels for out of town guests. We loved it!! The check in was so easy and our room wasn't ready so they made a great lunch suggestion and took our luggage to the room before we returned. The rooms were spacious, clean and very quiet. The breakfast buffet was full of fresh fruits, and plenty of choices....great coffee too!! This hotel was easy to find and a perfect location, but the friendly and professional staff made the stay outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to review our property and recognize our professional staff of Ambassadors. We appreciate your patience during the time that we properly prepared your guest room and are glad to hear everything was to your liking. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graniteville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, daughter, and I spent one night in this beautiful hotel for our daughter's 7th birthday. We booked the Everything Pink package, and it was worth every penny! From the time we arrived in the parking lot to the time we left, the staff made us feel like family. This was our very first American Girl Doll experience, so we weren't exactly sure what to expect.
I can honestly say these people have it together.
When we arrived in the parking lot, there was a little construction going on, and we weren't sure where to park...but Alan (I believe was his name) met us at our window. We told him we were a little early, and we weren't sure if we could check in yet. He said it was perfectly fine. He told us where to park, and said he would let the staff know we were there. As we were parking, he came back out to our car to let us know that our reservation was ready. He was very thoughtful and kind.
As soon as we walked through the front door...our little girl was greeted as if she made the reservation herself. She was taken to her very own "check-in" table for her and her doll Grace. She was even given her very own key to our room.
When we walked into our room, our daughter had the biggest smile on her face. I knew right then that this trip was gonna be amazing.
Our room was very clean, and the balcony overlooking the atrium was pretty neat too. The courtyard was beautifully decorated with white lights in the trees surrounded with rocking chairs and fire pits.
The hotel is located right across the street from the South Park Mall. A nice sidewalk and red light crossing made it very easy to just walk across the street. The Cheesecake Factory is located in the mall as well, and it was so good that we went twice.
The next morning we stayed for the breakfast that was included in our package. It was a mixture of hot and cold items including, bacon, eggs, and grits. Our daughter was even presented with a stack of freshly cooked pancakes from the kitchen.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Renaissance Staff for making our first trip to Charlotte a very memorable one. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is neat. Not much noise, so we we're able to sleep fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for giving such a detailed review of your experience with us! We are so happy to hear that your daughter loved every moment of the “All Pink” deluxe American Girl package. Our team works very hard to ensure all our guests, including children, feel special when they stay at our hotel. Alan is a great asset to our team and he will appreciate you recognizing his above and beyond efforts. We hope your family finds time to visit us again so we can deliver you with another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night here before going home to the Cayman Islands. We booked the American Girl package for our daughter for her birthday and it was fabulous, exactly as it was advertised The hotel is in an excellent location, close to SouthPark Mall and great restaurants within walking. The staff are friendly and attentive. The room was very clean and comfortable. The indoor pool was great for the kids and the gym is just next door to keep everybody happy. I wish we had of stayed here for longer and if we come back to North Carolina we will definitely stay here again. It was excellent value, thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are very happy to hear that your family enjoyed your short but sweet stay with us. Our American Girl package is a new offering so we are happy that your daughter was able to experience all it had to offer. We love hearing that our guests wish their stay with us was longer and we hope you have the opportunity to visit Charlotte again! We truly appreciate you reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.