We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209 (Barclay Downs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Retail Therapy Package
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I went with three friends for a girl's weekend and this place was perfect.

Plush beds, a nice amount of space, nice hot showers, and our room had a balcony over the lobby of the hotel that was great for the evenings. We borrowed a bottle opener one evening, which they had right on hand (thank you!)

My absolute only complaint was that the bathroom didn't have a vent fan, so it got REALLY fogged up when we were showering. Not the end of the world by any means, but a little inconvenient.

Room Tip: If I were ever traveling again, I'd try for one of those rooms with a balcony. They were lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are honored to have been the location for your girl’s weekend and that you enjoyed your room with the balcony so much. As for the bathroom without the fan, I’ll be sure to share this issue with our engineering department and see if there is anything we can do to improve the temperature after someone showers. We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel and happy to hear that your weekend was such a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    146
    41
    12
    10
See reviews for
125
137
31
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is a great value. It is located conveniently to the South Park area. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. One of the valets, Danny, took great care of us on any car needs. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Charlotte North Carolina at anytime.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for recommendation of our hotel, we truly appreciate it. Danny is an asset to our team and it’s always great to see our ambassadors receive recognition from our guests, I’ll be sure to share your review with him. We hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have stayed at this property several times when visiting Charlotte. Excellent accommodations, excellent staff, excellent location for walking to great restaurants and shopping and excellent concierge lounge. Everyone here goes the extra mile! Thank you Morgan at front desk for upgrade. Thank you to Danny the bellman for retrieving my husband 's misplaced bag! Danny's friendliness is a delight for your first greeting upon arrival. Everyone here puts a smile on your face! Thank you for another great stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share the great experiences you continue to have while staying with us. I will be sure to share your review with Morgan and Danny as they are devoted Ambassadors at our hotel and will appreciate your recognition. We look forward to the next opportunity of hosting you at our hotel and continuing to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a great place to stay in Charlotte. It is across the street from the South Park Mall and next to the Piedmont Town Center which has a few restaurants with great happy hour specials.

Danny the Bellman provided excellent service with a smile every day! He was always quick to recommend restaurants and things to do in Uptown.

Chelsea at the front desk was also wonderful. The hotel is clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Flagstones bar has great service and food also!

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room and are a light sleeper, request a room at the end of the hall. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you taking time to review our hotel and appreciate Danny and Chelsea’s services. We definitely benefit from our ideal location in the SouthPark area and love knowing our guests take full advantage of it, along with further exploring our city. We hope to have more opportunities of hosting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Accommodations were great! Rooms were very clean and well furnished. Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We had breakfast each morning there, and the service and food were very good. Adequate parking for self park or valet. Would definitely recommend. An excellent value!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We appreciate you recommendation for our hotel and happy to hear how much you enjoyed our property, food and service during your stay. Thank you for taking time to review our property and we hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Easter weekend at this hotel was a delight. All staff members were cheerful, helpful, respectful and interested in making our experience a great one. Our room was a larger King with a seating area, very adequate closet, small bath and a very comfortable bed. The room could have had more overhead lighting especially in the foyer and a larger bath area but otherwise was tastefully decorated, had plenty of windows and a nice television arrangement along with refrigerator etc. The fitness area and pool complex are well equipped, clean, and inviting. The little touches such as cupcakes and chardonnay in the lobby, great cookies in the lobby and excellent bell service all added to the experience. The concierge lounge was open for breakfast on the weekend and made the experience special.

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms facing the SouthPark Mall are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your Easter weekend with us, thank you for choosing our property! We appreciate hearing reviews on all the details of our hotel and how much our guests enjoy things from the welcome amenity and guest rooms to our tasty breakfast in the concierge lounge. We hope to have another opportunity to further impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I was there for a wedding weekend and it was perfect. It was large enough to hold 100 people from out of town and still not over run the place. I believe there were several functions going on that weekend but you would never know and the service never suffered for it.

Service is top notch for the value of the hotel. Price is really pretty great for the level of service and attention provided. All staff is extremely accommodating and overly helpful.

I stayed in the club level which was nice, but different from other club levels I have stayed at before. Typically I have experienced that the club lounge is in the club levels and only accessible by a room key. Here the club rooms are on the top floor, but the lounge is down a hallway on the first floor tucked away. If I had not have asked, I am sure I wouldn't have found it.

The only other thing that was not ideal was the bar/cafe hours. They are both closed from 2-4:30. I was working from the hotel room and wanted to grab a bite but not leave the hotel, I went down around 2:30 and was out of luck. I was able to go back to my room and order room service, but I was looking to get out of my room so that was a little let down. This is my only real gripe.

The hotel is updated and. A little funky. Decor is trendy and colorful but not cheesy. The bar is great and so is the atrium and outdoor patio.

This is a very large hotel, but parking was still fairly painless surprisingly.

The rooms are not large, but not too small and well appointed. Beds are very comfortable and inviting. I was also pleased to have a mini fridge.

All in all we had a fantastic weekend and the hotel was amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for that great review on all aspects of our hotel. We appreciate you recognizing our skilled staff and we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on the wedding weekend. I do apologize for the closed hours of our restaurant but glad to know you were still able to get some food without having to leave the property. Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel and we hope to have another opportunity of hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.