We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209 (Barclay Downs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Retail Therapy' Package
Ranked #7 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Quick weekend trip to Charlotte. Due to Marriott promotion and recent stay at Renaissance in Philadelphia, I gave this location a whirl. The location across from SouthPark Mall is very ideal. Close to everything and plenty of restaurants nearby. This is a very nice hotel. The parking and ease of getting to room was my issue. However, only one side of parking was accessible to guests near the front door. The other side was blocked off for valet. So the other options are in the back, which includes loading dock, (not appealing to single female after dark) or parking garage, which means walking thru hallway with meeting rooms and ballroom. It was ok walk with no luggage, but a pain with bags. Now the room - the bed was super comfortable. TV had nice selection of channels from brief time I spent flipping thru them. The shower was lovely, nice amount of pressure. My room was near the venting machine. However, not a lot of noise traveled into the room. Nice place for one night, but next time, I may try the Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    126
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
105
125
27
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business. Asked for a corner room based on other reviews. It was ok. Hotel is very close to South Park mall and lots of other shops. Avoid the McDonalds and Cheesecake Factory nearby. Hotel has nice outdoor firepits. "Executive Lounge" was smaller than most I've visited and was on the main floor. Fastest elevators ever! Not sure how this is a 4Diamond hotel though based on the rooms. Will probably stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times in the past year, most recently for one night in early November. Awesome location if you are doing business in south charlotte / fort mill...15 minutes from the airport, and an easy walk to the great south park mall and all the nearby restaurants such as del frisco's and brio.

The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive, from the valet parking guys to the cheerful girls at the front desk. I even saw the manager fluffing up pillows in the lobby because they didn't look quite right.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were driving from Boone, NC to Florida, and wanted to stop in Charlotte and visit South Park mall shopping. The Renaissance is PERFECT. This is a very well-managed and directed hotel, you can tell by the great attitudes of all the staff.
At the door, you will meet Danny, who is the doorman, valet and bellman, and every hotel should have a Danny. Our car was ready, directions were given, our bags taken care of and the room details reviewed. The front desk has Chelsea and other lovely young people who are smiling, attentive and helpful. I did not meet the General Manager but his presence was everywhere.
The Club room was nice, not great, but very good and well attended. Like a few other Renaissance hotels where i have stayed, they are a bit flamboyant and different, but in a good way. We also lucked out, and got an upgrade to the Presidential Suite. South Park is across the street and this hotel is perfect for being nearby a great mall. We also dined at the Palm, nearby and received good directions and a nice table was arranged.

Room Tip: Join the Marriott club, get an upgrade to the Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Renaissance is an easy 20-minute drive from the Charlotte airport. It's situated in a leaf, well-tended neighborhood and is across the street from the Southpark mall with the likes of Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, Tiffany...you get the picture. There is also a pleasant development within walking distance with cafés, small shops and restaurants.
Commitment to service is evident from the time you arrive and are greeted by the very pleasant doormen/bellmen/valet parking folks. The welcome was warm and sincere. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient and were completely unfazed by the crowd arriving to check in at the same time. They rapidly and efficiently increased the front-desk staffing to handle the load in a very brief period of time.
We were very happy with our room: comfortable bed, pleasant seating and work areas but a small bathroom. The room contained a refrigerator and coffee-making facilities. Unfortunately the laminate floor had been deeply scratched by an encounter with some sharp object but this was a cosmetic defect only.
We were attending a meeting at the hotel, so we had the opportunity to experience the cuisine offered to groups. It was typical hotel food but well presented by a friendly staff. Nothing to dissatisfy here.
Overall a very pleasant, well-run property. We would return here without question.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the center core are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip 10/28-10/31. The front desk was so welcoming. Had my reservation all ready and within minutes was offered a Carmel apple martini and actually walked to the elevator. Now that's service. The motel is nicely decorated and the room/bed very comfortable. Toothpaste, mouthwash and body wash all provided. Nice touch. When some of my coworkers and I asked for suggestions as to where to go to eat or see, "Danny" was the Best. Such a kind man and really enjoys his job as it shows in all he does. When I think of Charlotte I'll think of Danny. A true gem! would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it. The only reason for not giving it five stars are the prices. Food and beverages onsite are crazy priced from what I am used to.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before so I wanted to return.My 12 yr anniversary the first night stay room next door was super loud.We could hear her talk loud all night even after we called security.She got got even louder eventually we had peace!The next day finally we could enjoy our stay.Overall love this place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.