We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service; top quality stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209 (Barclay Downs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Retail Therapy' Package
Ranked #7 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service; top quality stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A great stay from beginning to end! The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the food was excellent. This is a first-rate hotel. It is also conveniently located across the street from a huge high end shopping mall :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    126
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
105
125
27
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Found a bed bug morning of checkout. We brought the actual bug down to show the staff. Was told thanks for letting us know. Have a great day. Nothing else was done. If not for the bedbug and the staff reaction the stay would have been wonderful! :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Renaissance does a good job being one of the upscale properties in the Marriott family. This is no exception.

Service is excellent - friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice and clean. Concierge lounge is open on weekends but would have prefer it to be closed and eat in the restaurant. Not much choices or that good of food.

Walking distance to many restaurants. Enjoy beers at Taco Mac (they have about 140 choices) and good Asian food at AZN.

Very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent service, and very friendly staff. Excellent location for south park. Highly recommend his location. Very contemporary furnishings. Super comfortable beds. Lots of outlets for charging in the room and a refrigerator

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

compared to the Doubletree Suites which is right next door, the decor of the Renaissance is a small step down. We stayed at the Doubletree three months ago, so have a nice comparison. The staff at Renaissance is top-notch. They are all extremely polite and accomodating (the "Marriott way" for those of you have read the book) and went out of their way-everyone-to speak to you. The "club level" breakfast was decent, but, in a crowded revamped first floor suite (presumably to be close to the kitchen). The buffet breakfast in the dining room was nice; not a huge spread, but, sufficient. If I'm paying for breakfast in that area, though, I prefer the Original Pancake House at Sharon Corners (about .25 miles away from the hotel). My only REAL qualm with the Renaissance is that overwhelming smell in the lobby areas that smells like stinky deodorant. It truly is sickening...if you're trying to enjoy some relaxation in the lobby area (of which there are several nice ones, with fun, quirky upholstered furniture) or even just passing through. I think Renaissance needs a different "signature scent" if that's what they're going for. It almost smells like every newer men's cologne that is out there-marine and fruity together YUCK! I did love the minted/fruited/herbed water that was available near the reception desk, and the outdoor courtyard off of the lobby had interesting furniture and LOOKED inviting, although, there were functions going on there the entire weekend, so, really couldn't review it. Nice area for walking also-and about a five minute walk to the SouthPark Mall, which was great!
Beds and linens were wonderful. Decor in the rooms was typical, some of the rugs in hallways were a little tired...The rollaway bed that we had to get for my daughter was nice, though. It was not one of those that were folded in half: came as an upright bed that we then laid flat-so no bar in the middle of your back. I had to do some work while on this trip and found the chair at the desk was uncomfortable, though. It was too low in comparison to the desk-even at its highest setting, was covered in "pleather", seat was too deep also. It was more like a lounge chair.
Other than the smell in the lobbies, my only complaint was that my room temps seemed to fluctuate quite a bit and it was hard to get it cooled down or heated up..could be the time of year, also, as both were needed. Outdoor air at night would've been perfect, but, windows do not open here. This is a quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Located in the SouthPark area of Charlotte the Renaissance was a comfortable quality hotel with quality service after several days of business travel. I did find the rate to be a little on the high side however.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The service was great with happy people greeting you throughout the hotel. This hotel was right next to where I had my business meetings but nowhere near anything else. I guess is located right next to where the local NBA team played. That building no longer exists. This hotel looks quite a bit like an Embassy Suites with an atrium from top to bottom which looked kind of cool. The problem with that is the noise from below carries up through the whole building. There happened to be a Chamber of Commerce drinkfest one of my nights so was very loud around 6-8 PM. The bar closes very early as they get complaints about the noise from the guests. It worked just fine for me but I imagine some others would want to know this. The room was very nice and seemed to be updated recently.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.