We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209 (Barclay Downs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Retail Therapy Package
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blumenau
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We've chosen this hotel because of its location, but actually, this was the less important adjective for Renaissance SouthPark. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The lobby is pretty nice, with a fountain in the middle. It seems modern and cool. The hotel smells so good and the staff were always smiling and ready to help us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    145
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
125
136
31
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Wouldn't stay anywhere else!
The front staff is wonderfull !!
Very clean and inviting rooms, clean And nice gym facilities, and the location is excellent!
Breakfast servers always make sure that you have everything you need.
As I said when visiting Charlotte I wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Outstanding !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Like most Renaissance hotels I've stayed in, this was an excellent property. It was conveniently located within the Southpark complex and the staff were very friendly and helpful on directions. Only problem was that I was only able to stay one night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A very comfortable hotel with full of nice features including a nice pool and fitness center. The rooms are large and include refrigerators, large TV and a safe as well as very comfortable beds. There are plenty of places to sit, relax or work in the lobby area or lounge as well as the outside courtyard in the middle of the hotel. The restaurant has a limited menu but the food is well prepared. The meals provided for business meetings were very good. The location is convenient to local companies and a short walk to the South Park mall and a wide range of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Hotel is really nice with very friendly staff and Great Service. The rooms are rather Big compared to the usual Hotel room size. Everything was very clean and orderly. The breakfast at the Gold membran Business lounge was Not Bad and also in the evenings some snacks were offered, best of all that fruit and drinks were available all day long. I also liked the fact that healthy food like grilled vegetables etc was offered - so living healthy was possible!
the fitness center is quite nice and also an indoor pool is available.
I can really recommend this hotel - there is nothing more you could wish for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The room was a good size. The bathroom was comfortable and well equipped, although there was trash left in the wastebasket. The Renaissance bed they boast about was the most comfortable bed I've encountered on the road. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and tasty, except for the coffee.
So I was surprised that my room was not made up by late afternoon. And my complaint did not produce any action either. I slept in a rumpled bed that night. It was still very comfortable.
Go figure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Charlotte and the Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark help make it a great experience. I was having trouble connecting to the internet and the front desk sat down with me to help me resolve my problem.

Room Tip: There was a package that included the breakfast buffet that was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.