We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. National Whitewater Center

U.S. National Whitewater Center
5000 Whitewater Center Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28214
+1 704-391-3900
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Rock climbing, White-water rafting, Biking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The U.S. National Whitewater Center (USNWC) is dedicated to the promotion of the active, outdoor lifestyle. Since 2006, the USNWC has been promoting access to the outdoors for all levels of participants through its all-day pass programs, instruction, leadership school as well as festivals, races and other outdoor events. Whether you visit the Center's 700 acres on the Catawba River or participate in the offsite programs featured throughout the United States, the USNWC wants you to play, relax and learn outside.
Charlotte
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The activities are really fun and believe it or not one of the best lunch places in Charlotte. Fair prices and a nice getaway.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    200
    27
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fun outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

i love the River Jam that they have in the summer. its every thursday. I love the bands that they have - always entertaining. And the best chicken nachos ever!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Plan on spending the day-do the rafting experience last,weekday less crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to do this with our family who were visiting from out of town. Plan ahead and book in advance if you are doing this a Saturday or Sunday as it is crowded.

We had a team of 5 who rafted and we had a great time and an excellent guide. We never tipped but we worked really hard to stay upright.

We also enjoyed the kayaking, hiking, rock climbing and the band that was playing in the center of the park. We came on a holiday weekend and the atmosphere was full of energy. You can bring a cooler with food (well worth it) and they have a cool river cafe to get eats too. Kind of expensive when you add in the cost of a ticket.

Great place to have an outdoor experience that you will remember.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience, comes close to the 'real thing'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent have a day with a larger group enjoying multiple tours. The whole area is really impressive and the rafting experience is outstanding. We had a great guide enjoying the tours as much as we did, letting us experience every single tour in a different way which contributed additionally to the great fun we had. We are looking forward to coming back some day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A gem in the Charlotte area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is my "go to" destination when I have visitors. It offers so many things to do... hiking, rafting, people watching, dining, etc. You can go for food or an active adventure, and enjoy the great outdoors to whatever degree you choose. The outdoor/indoor café always provides a good experience (I've eaten there many times), particularly since you can watch the rafters as you dine on the large outdoor patio.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. National Whitewater Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. National Whitewater Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. National Whitewater Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.