We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lulu - CLOSED

Lulu
1911 Central Ave, Charlotte, NC 28205-5111
+1 704-376-2242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I visited mid-week - not many customers in the early evening. It's a small place in an old house on a street on which you aren't going to find other restaurants of this character. I'd describe the decor as very nice casual. We shared a fried calamari appetizer to start - the Movie Star - $10. The flavors were great, but the calamari tough, which I take it means it was over cooked. For our main courses, my wife had a summer salad with grilled shrimp ($15.50), which she thought very good. I had the stuffed cabbage -- actually one layer of cabbage leaves wrapped around ground beef and pork, in a smoked tomato sauce ($18) - excellent. So, although the fried calamari left something to be desired, overall the food was very good to excellent. The wine list is small, but includes good, reasonably priced choices. No complaint there. Service was prompt and earnest, but amateurish - not up to what you'd expect at this sort of venue. It's all about the training - here, apparently little, if any.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Nc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Must Try in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lulu, a French-style restaurant on Central Avenue in Charlotte is one of those fun places, where the food is creative and beautifully prepared, and the service matches perfectly. I recently had the salmon over risotto and it was just about the best piece of salmon that I have had in years. It's a great location if you want to attend a show downtown. I would highly recommend the smoked fish appetizer which could easily be a light entree. Add a glass of wine, and you're set!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Cozy Restaurant....Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had a discount coupon to use at this restaurant. A little out of my way to go to. Restaurant has about 15 tables in an old house setting. Was seated at a table for two next to a light switch which the waitress had to adjust two times. Place was very busy and two servers were hopping around.
They were out of leg of lamb and my wife opted for chicken which she said was very good. Scallops for appetizer were very good. I had paella ( a little too spicy for me) but it was good.
Server did not give a lot of info about meals. You don't ask and they don't tell. Overall this place is good but I'm very picky and I don't rate too many restaurants as excellent. May or may not visit again. There are too many better restaurants closer to where I live.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lulu is always reliable for decent food. Service is fine but neither is outstanding or over the top. Hot in summer and close tables make for steamy conditions inside when the restaurant is crowded. Fans do not make much difference to the temps.
We've had pate's, salmon w/risotto, mussels (always great) and all are just fine and reasonably priced. Decent wine list by the glass and bottle.
I happen to love rice pudding which is on the dessert menu, but this is not "traditional" with custard and rice, but more of a chef's creative version with much sweeter flavors almost as an ice cream sundae with the cooked rice being the ice cream and a caramel syrup topping. All liked the taste but I was hoping for "traditional"... Well worth a visit... but do so on a cooler evening for a more comfortable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My cousin, his two children and I just had a delightful dinner here this past weekend. Ages ranged from 12 to 72 and we were all delighted with our appetizers, entrees & desserts. Well worth the visit. And a very nice wine list

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.