We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you think of Marriott you think of....... High class five stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6030 Piedmont Row Drive South, Charlotte, NC 28210 (Barclay Downs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #60 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“When you think of Marriott you think of....... High class five stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I don't why I always have great luck with Residence Inn's but I love them to death. I love Marriott ' s full service as well but they don't have microwaves and it's real hard to play PS3 on their TVs because they want you to buy the movies.
However Residence Inn I feel right at home. The front desk clerks are super friendly. Always good when you have been driving for hours on the way to there hotel. Rooms are clean. My room had a fireplace that didn't need logs that was pretty Cool. I loved it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricltsp, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! And yes - our two bedroom suites do have gas fireplaces which is a nice added bonus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
29
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for a night, could do a longer stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff. Good location, walking distance from southpark area (although recommend a car). Room was nice and clean. The bedroom - you could actually make pitch black! I got a great night's sleep : )
Breakfast was good for being free - nice selection of hot/ cold and waffles. Looking at the pantry items you know they listen to what the customers request. Between the room quality, location and the food within walking distance added that the staff friendliness - good stay. (no shuttle service but since it is extended stay/ family targeted - do not blame them - people have cars). Room Service is offered via Ruth Chris but you could walk there by the time you pick up the phone to order.

Room Tip: end rooms (01-04) are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcusa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wonderful fine. Did not expect what we received. The Staff was friendly and engaging. Sue at the front desk was SO Pleasant.... Tony the Concierge was very helpful and full of advice as to where to eat and what was near by.....Jeff the bartender was a great guy.

The room was relaxing...the beds were quite inviting and we had a refreshing sleep..... It was a nice stay.

You will be pleased if you stay here

Room Tip: Eat at Paco's Taco's right outside the hotel..... Great Mexican Food and good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I don't understand why there were negative comments about breakfast. I was quite happy with it. Waffles with toppings, yogurts, oatmeal, some hot food, bagels. What else do you need? We got a decent price for a busy weeknight through Priceline. It was very convenient for the area we were interested in staying in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricltsp, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I do have to agree - we do have a great breakfast!! Especially the waffles - you can make your own and add toppings like carmel syrup, blueberries, whipped cream - just to name a few. Glad you enjoyed your stay - and hope to see you agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is really geared toward weekly business travelers as all the rooms have just one king bed so do not come here if need two beds unless one is willing to sleep on the sleeper sofa.

Rooms are nice as kitchen is what you expect though unlike doubletree kitchens had a two burner stovetop. Did not like the half couches as only one side have an armrest. Breakfast are above average as nice selection of items including well cooked eggs, waffle maker and some sort of breakfast meat. Did not see a gym though pool was indoors which is nice even in the south where it can get too cold for an outside pool. Service was good as free internet for everyone not just Marriott elite members.

Things against it are No bar or separate restaurant nor much common areas either inside hotel or around. If doing a wedding the doubletree has a large tent in their courtyard set up for that.

Overall for business travelers who want an affordable place to settle down for a week this is a good option but stay elsewhere if bringing the kids or if want to hold a business conference.

Room Tip: I stayed on both a high floor and one of the low floors and noticed no difference. I actually like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

First of all, the staff was really nice. I had just got to my room and had enough time to inspect the bed, sheets, bathroom, and exhaled, then the phone rings. It was Ashley from the the front desk, checking to make sure the room was comfortable and up to par. I've been traveling for years and I must say I have been very blessed to have stayed in quite a few of 4 star hotels, but I have never received a phone call to check to make sure everything was ok. It so nice we ordered room service from Ruth Chris, which was very nice. FYI, they automactically charge it to your room, unless you have cash, and they do not carry change. Everything you would need was there, they even have ice cream(for a late night snack)! It was so nice we ended up staying for another night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricltsp, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your generous comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will choose us again when visiting the area. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with a good bed and a clean room. Having a kitchenette is helpful for the take-out and the usual wine/snack we have.

But we found the breakfast just sufficient. I could eat the eggs, potatoes, etc but they did not seem overly appealing. The waffle iron came out the second morning, and when it worked (one died before my eyes), it did a really good job. But the coffee was utterly dreadful. My wife and I went to the nearest Panera! - That was about a three minute walk and worth it.

We found the room temp too hot and had to constantly change. The air was very dry. Can't fault the hotel too much because Charlotte had a nasty cold snap. Careful with the dishwasher; it has seen better days, but will eventually finish.

The staff are very friendly, and very helpful. I had a complaint about security and it was taken care of very quickly.

Overall, we felt that it was a nice stay: very simple and comfortable.

Room Tip: You can check in and move bags to room by parking in front. But take the parking lot up the street t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricltsp, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate you feedback. I'm sorry that you did not like our breakfast. We always try to provide a good, quality breakfast. I'm glad that you did enjoy the room and the staff as well. We always welcome feedback and share it with our staff. It helps us in making our property better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark

Address: 6030 Piedmont Row Drive South, Charlotte, NC 28210
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.