We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 South Caldwell Street, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #45 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Goose Creek, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great New Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We only stayed there one night, but it was a great one night. We have stayed in Charlotte before, but decided to try this hotel as it was close to the Arena. The staff everywhere was super friendly. The room was a little small for 2 adults and 2 kids, but was still great. Everything was clean and smelled fresh. The hotel is in a great location for walking, or catching the train or trolleys. We would stay there again. Our only complaint is the air conditioning blew right on our heads at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
18
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Love the location within walking distance to all the downtown action. But with the rooftop bar and Fahrenheit restaurant, there really is no reason to leave. Foodies from everywhere will appreciate Chef Rocco's fabulous fare. Hotel is clean and modern. Staff is friendly and eager to help. Room is well decorated, clean, well appointed and bed is comfortable. Appreciate the room darkening shade option. Had a great experience and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit the rooftop bar and Fahrenheit restaurant while you are there. Amazing views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I can't understand what the bad reviews were for. The lobby is on the 10th floor, but it is not difficult to find. I found it nice not to have to walk through the lobby just to get to an elevator. We came up for a Bobcat's game and it's about a three minute walk to the arena - perfect! The Epicenter is also close - once we arrived our car was parked for the weekend. The valet is $20/night, but they were very helpful if we needed to get something out of the car and it's downtown parking...it's going to cost you $15-20 wherever you go.

Check in was quick and friendly - they let us check in about an hour early which was helpful. We were very impressed and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Check in is in the 10 th floor where it's one large grand room. Bar business centre restaurant etc. wow it makes traveling alone easier.

Staff are great and the view from 10th floor is magnificent at night - and day

The rooms are large and beds are so comfortable. Fridges are in the cupboard shld u need.

I can't wait to go back and stay but the breakfast whilst ample was disappointing as the eggs are not real. They tasted horrible. Very sad to endure such disappointment after such a lovely room and hotel. So. Go out for a cooked breakfast to elsewhere. The complimentary toast was ok and the fruit looked ok

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel opened in October in 2013. It is located in downtown Charlotte and is almost impossible to find, if you are not familiar with the area. The room was lovely but we had problems that should not have occurred in a new hotel. Our toilet was continuously stuffed up for the three days that we were there. A handyman kept coming but, I had to suggest that it be snaked out, rather than just plunged. We were there the weekend of the Panthers game and the hotel was overloaded. Of course, one of the elevators was broken for 2 days. We paid for breakfast but didn't think that it was worth getting up early for. It was good but not great. We got no help at all with our baggage. We are Senior Citizens and my husband had to go and get a cart for our luggage.
In all, they need to fix things and try harder!

Room Tip: Tell them if you are handicapped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, General Manager at Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your response. I apologize for the issues that you had during your stay. As you stated, we are new, and we are addressing the issues you mentioned. I understand that finding the main entrance to the hotel can be difficult, and we are reviewing with the city where we can add additional signage to assist our guests and not violate any policies. In addition, we are looking at adding a bellman to assist our guests. Once again I do apologize, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place this past weekend for 3 nights. Very nice hotel, friendly helpful staff. Valet is a bit steep at $20.00 per night but in does have in and out. We called down for the car when needed and it was there by the time we got downstairs. The room was clean and spacious. Maid did a wonderful job everyday even with 3 teenage girls! Plenty of choices for breakfast from hot items to cereal. We really enjoyed this stay and hope to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, General Manager at Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your response. I appreciate the kind words regarding the housekeeper. It is a very difficult job, and they deserve to be recognized when they do a good job. I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is new and very clean. Very convenient to downtown and a quick walk to the convention center. Free breakfast is usual for continental but free non the less. It was well worth it instead of paying $30 for breakfast at the convention center daily. My family was comfortable and felt safe. The entrance was a little difficult to navigate but we finally found it. We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, General Manager at Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I would agree that our location is very convenient to both the Convention Center and Center City Charlotte. We are addressing the need for additional signage to better assist our guests in finding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown

Address: 222 South Caldwell Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.