We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CharBar no. 7

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
CharBar no. 7
6300 Carmel Rd, Charlotte, NC 28226-8274 (Formerly Hickory Tavern)
(704) 540-4722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #484 of 1,848 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Menus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The menus were so annoyingly big we had to share one. Not sure who's idea that was. They are problem a foot tall and a foot wide. ANNOYING!! Food is overpriced too....although, pretty good.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    30
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I really should come here more often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Friendly staff. Food was served fast and it was very good. I have visited Hickory Tavern a few times and have always received excellent service and good food. I really should come here more often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“I would try it again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fast and friendly service, and each of my companions' meals were fine. Mine, not so much! I ordered the tilapia sandwich, which came with fries. The fries were good. And my sandwich was good...till I got into the center, which was cold and uncooked. I brought it to my waiter's attention and it was immediately whisked away. The replacement sandwich filet (a whole new own) was even bigger.Which was a good thing because it was also not properly cooked but the properly cooked outer half was perfect on the bun! I was satisfied, but the manager, Derrick Smith, would not have any of it! When he realized that I needed to modify my sandwich a little (honest, it was so big I really did not need all of it!) he refused to let me pay for it. I applaud him, and the restaurant, for that, and I definitely would go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“best tavern grill ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

the burgers are the best and the music all mixing together it was great and i loved the staff ands the cooks they all try to help as much as possible

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Burger and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice atmosphere and staff. A little pricey on the burger, which was excellent, and a great selection of beer. Nice location in uptown.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CharBar no. 7 also viewed

 

Been to CharBar no. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CharBar no. 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.