We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Buffet and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Kitchen & Bar

Coastal Kitchen & Bar
222 E 3rd St, Hilton, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)
(704) 377-1500
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #477 of 1,849 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Second Ward
Cross street: College & East Third
Transit: LYNX lightrail: Convention Center/3rd Street Station CATS bus station: East Trade and South Brevard streets
1 review
“Great Buffet and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

My coworkers and I dine here often. The restaurant has a great atmosphere very relaxing. The staff are friendly. Dinnerware is clean and the food is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Keith - thank you so much for the 5-star review! We appreciate the feedback and hope you'll continue to dine with us over your lunch break!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    13
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of favorites for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have eaten here several times for lunch since a co-worker informed me about it. The Hilton Coastal Restaurant is located on the ground floor lobby area at the base of the escalators. It can be accessed from the Overstreet Mall or front entrance. By far the easiest access is through the front entrance. The Overstreet Mall path takes a little navigating but being away from the main area does make for nice quiet ambience during the busy lunch time.

A nicely laid out buffet with different daily themes (seafood, Italian, southern, comfort, Asian, etc) is offered with rolls and a salad and dessert bar. There are usually two main entrees with several sides to select from. The entrees actually have personality. The food is replenished continuously so freshness and temperature is not a concern. The quality is several cuts above what you would get at one of those buffet chain restaurants.

The chairs are very comfortable, table surface space is adequate and very little background noise allows for easy conversation. Price for a buffet is very reasonable. It makes for a very relaxing break from the office.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie B, Manager at Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Troutfisher704 - Thank you for the 5-star review! I am so glad you took the time to write some kind words about our restaurant and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“My favorite lunch buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is definitely my favorite lunch buffet. I like the varieties and serivce, and the price is very reasonable compared with those at other restaurants in downtown area. Also, they have weekly specials which are also good choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie B, Manager at Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Kaylin - Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lunch buffet! It's too bad more people don't know about it! I hope we can continue to wow you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Very nice Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a stickler about buffets, and I can honestly say that this buffet is very clean and is always stocked with fresh hot food.
I like the variety that is offered as well. The price is veru affordable for the quality that you get.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie B, Manager at Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We appreciate your business and hope we can continue to meet your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“VARIETY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service and staff are personable, friendly and very accomodating. The buffet offers a large variety of fresh cooked items and the dessert bar offerings is a great way to end the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie B, Manager at Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review! We sincerely appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.