We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aways good take out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai House At University

Thai House At University
230 E Wt Harris Blvd Ste B9, Charlotte, NC 28262
(704) 717-8006
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 1,848 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Aways good take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Love this place. The food is always great and hot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Worst Service Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I will have to say the food wasn't the issue, although it wasn't that great to begin with and the price is a little much, the issue was with the service. We were a table of 6 and seated right in front of the cashier, so I'm sure they were aware we were there. However, we didn't get any service until repeated attempts to gain one of the multiple servers attention. Once we finally got service the server was extremely rude and rushing us to order. One person was not ready so he said "never mind, I'll come back later" and I was not happy. I told him there were other people ready to order. He saw I had a Restaurant.com coupon and he immediately grabs the Brunch menus out of our hands and says "Coupon is only for dinner." I said, "the coupon does not say that, but that is fine, we will not use it." He still continues to try to get us to order off the dinner menu when I say excuse me, no. He finally gives us back the brunch menu and tries to again walk away when I said please stop, we are ready to order. He asks if everyone wants water, which I instantly reply "no" and he takes those orders. Once one person is done with a number on the brunch item he walks away, even though they aren't done ordering. I have to tell him to stop and slow down several times during the order process. After we are done ordering he asks for the drink orders again and I was just upset at that point. My Mom ordered hot water and when they brought the drinks out, they put them on the edge of the table and said "pass it down". No hot water. I asked three different people and we received the water after we receive the brunch, which they again, left on the edge of the table for us to pass down to each other. After our brunch is served, they serve our appetizers.

With that type of service, if they actually let me use my coupon, I still would never come back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't miss this Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Don't miss the Thai House at University. It's a bit out of the way (north of the DMV office, east of Walgreens) but very much worth the trip.

We stopped for takeout. While we were deciding what to have the staff brought over water with lemon while we were looking.

The Pad Thai was fabulous, the Broccoli with Beef was terrific and the jasmine rice was perfectly cooked.

We only stopped for takeout, but the restaurant was clean, intimately lighted, and seemed very comfortable with a lot of booths.

We won't hesitate to go back! You shouldn't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai food and service in CLT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The service here is absolutely fantastic. The atmosphere is perfect for either a date or a group celebration. Parking is ample, and prices are fair. My favorite is the chicken panang.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“authentic thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

these guys serve authentic thai food. Ordered a royal thai seafood curry and it was fabulous.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House At University also viewed

 

Been to Thai House At University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai House At University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.