We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
House of Pizza
3640 Central Ave, Charlotte, NC 28205-5638
(704) 568-9410
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #711 of 1,974 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I ate there with friends after church Sunday. I had a Greek sub. Others had a variety of salads, subs and pizza. All very good. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice people - needs updating...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Went in search for pizza. I am used to having amazing pizza at hole-in-the-wall establishments. However, this place was severly dated and was dark and felt like you were in a time warp to the 70s or 80s. The pizza was mediocre at best, a large pizza and two drinks for 18 bux is a bit steep for such a lackluster pizza. I am better off eating at Dominos really.

To-go cups are 29 cents. A dozen buffalo wings are 10 bucks. The server was nice, but somehow I was expecting Gordon Ramsay or Robert Irvine to pop out and say we were on a show. Next time ill stick with elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good Subs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Went for lunch. I have been by this restaurant for many years and never stopped in, but my sister-in-law suggested going. The outside of the building looks a little dated, but the subs where great! All the people in our group had the same opinion. The waitress was very friendly but it took a little wait to get our food since we had a large group. Would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had the chance to eat at House of Pizza last week, to celebrate a friends birthday. There were 5 of us...I ordered the small Pep/Cheese Pizza...it was really good (I moved here from Ohio a couple years ago..still looking for that mom and pa pizza joint...House of Pizza was good, but I still haven't found one to call "my favorite pizza place in Charlotte". Others in our group ordered a couple pizza, and they loved them, and a couple people in our group had the Philly Cheese Sub...they both really liked them.

I would go back to House of Pizza...and would recommend others to go and try them!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grilled Marinated Chicken Strip Sub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The first time I ever tasted their Chicken Sub it was catered at a construction meeting around the year 2000. I was hooked. The chicken breast strips were marinated to perfection. It was a giant sub with chips and a pickle. Nowhere does any other restaurant make anything this delicious. I also enjoy their pizza. My favorite is the house special pizza. These are Greek style pizzas. I have eaten at this restaurant numerous times. The restaurant's decor is completely outdated. The staff acts as though they are bothered to bring the food to the table. Don't miss this sub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Pizza also viewed

 

Been to House of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.