We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a cool part of town and a great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Diem Restaurant

Carpe Diem Restaurant
1535 Elizabeth Ave, Charlotte, NC 28204-2501 (Elizabeth)
(704) 377-7976
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carpe Diem Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,848 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Elizabeth
Cross street: Travis Avenue
Transit: There is a bus stop located 200 yards from the restaurant.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow, what a cool part of town and a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had dinner last night at CD and it was great. Great food great service and a very cool part of CLT. Consider it when thinking about dinner...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The entire atmosphere and taste experience is fabulous. I truly enjoyed my meal there. We called ahead and they were able to handle a crew of about 8 on pretty short notice. We had a great waitress who helped us order meals that met each of our needs. Their wine choices were good and all the wait staff helped our waitress deliver our meals once they were ready.
We had appetizers that were excellent and I enjoyed a ribeye that was tender, juicy, and cooked exactly how I asked for it ... medium-rare. A friend of mine had scallops and we exchanged to create our own surf and turf and the scallops were also cooked perfectly, tasted very fresh, and sweet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent in every regard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Carpe Diem is a beautiful restaurant on a quiet street quite close to Uptown Charlotte. The wait staff is attentive and the food is excellent. Ahi tuna appetizer makes a nice meal for a small appetite. Prices are as expected for a fine dining restaurant in a large city. Definitely fair considering the quality of the food. We'll definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Restaurant! Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We visited the restaurant for a family celebration. Waitress was excellent, Atmosphere was excellent, food was outstanding. I would highly recommend dining here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal with impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a business dinner with 9 of us. 2 days later the group is still raving about the meal! The atmosphere is wonderful, very warm and inviting. The staff was attentive and service top notch. One of the meals arrived late; it was a new item on the menu and when initially made was done incorrectly. My colleague said the wait was worth it (sorry I am unsure what she had; all I know is that it was a vegetarian dish). Several memebers of our group are vegetarians and they were delighted to see many options to choose from. I had the seared scallops with mashed turnips (incredible!) and brussel sprouts (which I love, but I prefer them to be a little more done than what I was served, but still very good). A tiny scoop of sorbet was given in between the appetizer and meal to cleanse the palate, wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of Carpe Diem and highly recommend it for a nice meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpe Diem Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carpe Diem Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Diem Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.