We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Have a Taste for Vinegar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Spoon's Barbecue

Bill Spoon's Barbecue
5524 South Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28217-4120
704-525-8865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #520 of 1,976 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Must Have a Taste for Vinegar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The pork BBQ was good, no doubt. However, you MUST have acquired a taste for Eastern NC BBQ, which is HEAVY in a VINEGAR sauce. I personally love the traditional sweet-style Southern BBQ. Now this is good pork-flavored BBQ. But I could only eat just so much of the vinegar. The portions were surprisingly small, as the sides were good but smaller than most BBQ joints. Overall, not bad. But there is MUCH better out there. If you love Eastern NC BBQ, you'll probably like this place much more than I did.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Afton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Charlotte - Hands Down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you crave Eastern NC style BBQ then Bill Spoons is the only place to go in Charlotte. Friends and family affectionately call me a BBQ snob and I definitely earn that label. Steve Spoon carries on his grandfather's tradition. The BBQ is not cheap but neither is the finished product and portion sizes are healthy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great $$$ BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I love Spoon's BBQ sandwich!! What's good is great and what's bad is awful. I crave that vinegar-ie sauce and buy their bottles of it to take home. The Q is great tasting, the service is fast and friendly, and I like the slaw. My 4 stars are for the great tasting Q. The bad that's awful is just like some others have said. The tiny pricey sandwich is gone in very few bites and you leave hungry. It cost too much for the small amount you get. Cash only.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Sweet Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Had to go and see if it was the best, I wasn't disappointed. You have to get the sweet tea. BBQ and slaw are awesome, so tasty it hardly needs sauce. Hushpuppies are an added bonus. Had to try the banana pudding which was awesome. Great lunch stop.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Classic North Carolina BBQ - Great Hush Puppies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife and I ate here on a recent trip to NC. We had a great lunch. The pork was tender and succulent. Classic NC style, which we normally don't like, but when in NC, this is what you get. The hush puppies were the best we have ever had rivaling the puppies at BBQ Center in Lexington, NC. The brunswick stew was also unique and tasty. Don't leave without getting some of their banana pudding for dessert. The wait staff is very friendly and courteous. Your iced tea glass will never be less than half full. We look forward to coming back if we are in Charlotte again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Spoon's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Bill Spoon's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Spoon's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.