We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mimosa Grill

Mimosa Grill
327 S Tyron, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)
704 343 0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mimosa Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,966 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Second Ward
Cross street: Martin Luther King & Tryon Streets
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with business associates this week at Mimosa Grill in uptown Charlotte and it was very good. We all shared the tower appetizer which had mussels, crab cakes and hushpuppies filled with tiny shrimp in a creme sauce. It was excellent! I had the filet which was also perfectly cooked and had a very nice charbroiled flavor. Our waitress was very nice and very professional. I would recommend!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    77
    35
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Excellent dinner between families. Very flexible with the children. The fish was great. The service was very welcoming. Will go back next time that I am in Charlotte - with kids and definitely without!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Food and service were good, but the atmosphere and overall experience were very average. Went on a Friday night, and was hoping for a much more lively and upscale dinner. Instead, many of the patrons were wearing t-shirts and the entire restaurant was empty by 10pm. Likewise, the atmosphere is strongly reminiscent of the kind of corporate chains that surround shopping malls. If I am going to spend that much money on dinner, it doesn't really matter how good the food is if I feel like I'm eating it at Chili's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Not so great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

First of all, the decor is very nice, and the service is great. But none of that is any good if the food isn't up to par! And, the food is NOT up to par.

I ordered the Rock House Farm Artisan Pork, which turned out to be teeny slices of unseasoned chewy pork loin layered with collard greens, some mac and cheese, a cube of fried pork belly with a greasy dab of something they call Arkansas black apple sauce. The collard greens were great, and the mac and cheese were great, but the rest was not worth eating. All for $27. Folks, pork loin is not expensive, and should always be tender and bountiful. And don't give me a cube of fried pork belly and call it braised smokey bacon. The Arkansas black apple sauce makes me never want to go to Arkansas.

The two stars are based on the nice decor and excellent service. But the food was not so great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great for a celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were in town for business and needed a place to take our friend for her birthday. Several people gave us the Mimosa as a top place to take her.

We had an early reservation and the restaurant was quiet and had a very calm,classy feel to it. It did not get too crowded or loud while we were there.

We were told it was southern cooking with an upscale twist. The menu was not overwhelming with good descriptions of all items and the waiter was very attentive and eager to give additional information.

We had several starters - kale salad, mussels, and hush puppies. All plates were enjoyed by those who ordered them.

We selected main dishes of shrimp and grits, salmon, and pecan crusted trout. We also ordered a large sized southern greens as a side dish to share - it could be ordered in a small size too - a nice touch and something that many restaurants do not offer on side dishes. We each had glasses of house wine to accompany dinner. The shrimp and grits and trout were cooked perfectly but the salmon was thought to be a bit too dry.

We each had sweet potato pie -absolutely delicious and made only as they can make it in the south - to celebrate as well as after dinner drinks. The total check for 3 people with this quantity and quality of food was very reasonable.

I would definitely go back to Mimosa grill if I lived in the area. We were told they have a wonderful brunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimosa Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mimosa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimosa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.