We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for cajun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cajun Queen

Cajun Queen
1800 E 7th St, Charlotte, NC 28204-2416 (Elizabeth)
704-377-9018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cajun Queen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 1,940 restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Elizabeth
Cross street: Lamar
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good spot for cajun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love cajun food and i'm very picky about it, and it is very good here.
My Cajun Fried Oysters were a bit under spiced for my taste but the Etouffée was very good as was my Bourbon Bread Pudding. My colleague ordered the cheesecake and she loved it.
Portions are large and you are getting quality for you dollar.
Nicely restored home with fabulous artwork and the open mike nice lent a nice touch.
great staff and good service.
I think this would be a great spot for a group.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    80
    69
    20
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Cajun in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The know how to cook it, serve it and make it fun! This is a fantastic spot for friends, family and celebration

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Flavor town!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is hands down one of the best restaurants in charlotte. If you like Cajun..this is the place for you! Everything had so much flavor and the portion size is huge..quantity and quality:) this is the first time I've been to a restaurant and really enjoyed everything I ordered. Usually when I leave a restaurant I think man I've had better or i could've made it better....but the chefs at this restaurant truly knows what they are doing,,I wouldnt even try to look for or replicate any of the dishes myself, everything was perfection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Cajun in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Looking good Cajun in the Queen City, this is the spot. The service and food is top notch. This a favorite spot for date night or Sunday brunch. The restored house is great. Now the only set back but not really, is that seating can tight sometime. Other than that is a great spot for food and drink, and close to Uptown or Central Ave for continuing an great time in Charlotte.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Want Dat?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Want dat live Jazz music, great atmosphere, and good Cajun food come to the Cajun Queen. If you want to see the band live, it is on the second floor of the old house that is in the Elizabeth Neighborhood near Downtown Charlotte, NC.They play 7 nights a week. It is even suppose to be haunted by a woman who once lived there. I didn't see the ghosts but got a few orbs in a photo that was taken outside with the large gator in the front. We made reservations to be seated near the band since it was our first time there. It has a nice bar area and nice outdoor deck to eat on, on the second floor as well. We had a wonderful time and we carried another couple with us who also was very pleased with everything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Queen also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cajun Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.