We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lasagna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Open Kitchen

Open Kitchen
1318 W Morehead St, Charlotte, NC 28208-5216
704-375-7449
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #558 of 1,976 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
South Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lasagna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Order lasagna, which was very meated and I thought it was good which my wife and I shared. There is a $2 share fee which I was not happy about. Waitress could have been more friendly and smile some, she was an old lady with an attitude and did not want to be there. The place is full of color and memorabilia; it would take an entire day to look everything over. The cashier was very friendly and talked to us a bit at the counter. The bathrooms were cleaned but they need a paper towel rack in there instead of the air blower, how many people do not wash there hands and the person has to grab a handle and pull the bath door in to get out. Need them paper towels in there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    10
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best of Italian in Charlotte N.C.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Open Kitchen has been serving great Italian food since I first visited Charlotte in 1971.
About time that I write a review to thank the staff and owners for many great lunch and dinner experiences.
My favorites:
Greek salads (get the small one) nobody can eat the large!
Mama K Supreme Pizza
Any veal dish, But Veal Barcelona best

Great ambiance, lots of Charlotte history on the walls and ceiling

I love coming back to the Open Kitchen

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Not Bad. Not Good, but Not Bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Open Kitchen is indeed a Charlotte establishment. Probably even a tradition for some. But it's really only average. In all respects. Average accommodations, average food, average service. Nothing particularly bad, but also nothing particularly noteworthy. Open Kitchen just is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Atmosphere Alone Is Worth A Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been going here since I was a kid! Great atmosphere, great food. Casual. It's a great Charlotte landmark!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have eaten at the Open Kitchen since I was a little girl and the food has always been good as well as the waitresses are wonderful. A lot of them have been there for years as well as the same owners.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Open Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.