We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maverick Rock Taco

Maverick Rock Taco
1513 Montford Drive, Charlotte, NC
+1 704-527-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 1,975 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Maverick Rock Taco is an all-American bar serving your favorite Mexican style cuisine with a rock 'n' roll atmosphere. Located on Montford Drive in Charlotte, Maverick Rock Taco is a celebration of legendary rock 'n' roll greats and live music combined with great food! Vintage decor, weathered reclaimed furnishings and murals of rock 'n' roll legends are featured throughout the main dining area. An entire wall dedicated to the American Flag makes this Xenia Hospitality concept truly unique and nostalgic. A large, spacious patio is perfect for enjoying Charlotte's beautiful weather!
Charlotte
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stopped in about two weekends ago and decided to try Maverick Rock Taco for lunch. I live in the area and frequent Montford Street pretty often. Food and service was great, good size portions and plenty of drink selections. The wait staff made good recommendations and I would certainly go back to explore more of the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Absolute killer tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited Maverick today with some friends from work, and I heard lots of good things about the restaurant. It certainly did not disappoint. First off, they've got probably 20 different unique tacos to choose from, all of which sound incredibly tasty. I honestly had a hard time trying to figure out which ones to go for. I ended up choosing the Texan, which is a beef brisket taco, and the Pina colada taco, which is a pineapple-coconut shrimp taco. I have a hard time trying to figure out which one I enjoyed more, they were both excellent! I'm very excited to head back and try some of the others, as I'm sure those are great as well. The cilantro-lime fries were also very tasty.
Service was great, prices were fair. Overall, just a rock-solid place. Great decor inside, and best of all the food was tremendously good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Eclectic Tacos and other great stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I think we found a new favorite place! Stopped by this place in a sea of other choices, but our love for tacos made us try this place. If you want to try tacos with the freshest ingredients, and a menu with other great choices to try. I had one huevos ranchero taco, one fried avocado taco and a side of black eyed pea salad... AWESOME!!! Can't wait to come back too. Great place to sit outside as well in good weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unique, Eclectic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I went for lunch, interesting and unique flavors of tacos among other dishes we will have to go back and try. I had Tequila shrimp with guacamole, and the Texan which was brisket and mustard slaw. She had fried avocado taco and korean beef and all 4 tacos were excellent, you can mix and match.

Place was recommended by several friends including some who are from Mexico, whom I asked what they thought was best place in Charlotte.

Lots of TVs, cool place to hang out and drink a beer, outdoor patio. Montford has a couple of good bars and restaurants, so good area in general. Friendly wait staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Tacos; Too Noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went for a late-afternoon lunch. Unusual taco menu. Decided to try two different flour tacos; the steak with pico salsa and the greek lamb with tzatziki Both were excellent. Table service came with unlimited amount of average-tasting chips but only one free small dish of salsa. Additional salsa was $2 per dish which I thought was kind of a cheap way to increase the bill. Have never seen that in any Mexican restaurant anywhere in the states. That would be the same as a burger place charging extra for ketchup and mustard. Service was good but since they seated us in the bar area the noise was unbearable; especially with the TV's cranked up. Could hardly hear each other across the table. Food was good enough to return but only if we can be seated in the back of the restaurant away from the bar noise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maverick Rock Taco also viewed

 

Been to Maverick Rock Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maverick Rock Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.