We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been great & it was not” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maverick Rock Taco

Maverick Rock Taco
1513 Montford Drive, Charlotte, NC
+1 704-527-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 1,968 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Maverick Rock Taco is an all-American bar serving your favorite Mexican style cuisine with a rock 'n' roll atmosphere. Located on Montford Drive in Charlotte, Maverick Rock Taco is a celebration of legendary rock 'n' roll greats and live music combined with great food! Vintage decor, weathered reclaimed furnishings and murals of rock 'n' roll legends are featured throughout the main dining area. An entire wall dedicated to the American Flag makes this Xenia Hospitality concept truly unique and nostalgic. A large, spacious patio is perfect for enjoying Charlotte's beautiful weather!
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Should have been great & it was not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This had the makings of a good meal. We waited patiently for our table. The atmosphere was great. We ordered $10 cocktails and they were undrinkable. I could not put my finger on it, they just tasted bad. Also do not have have the shark. It was tasteless and a funky texture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“When we want tacos, and are in South Charlotte, this is the place to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Located on the always busy Montford area. Many specialty tacos on the menu and they change it up from time to time. One of the selections we tried was the fried avocado taco - very good. The whitefish taco was delicious, too. Salsa was just ok as was the queso dip. Focus on the tacos - we ordered 4 different ones and split them between the two of us. Tall Tecates that day for just $2.50 ! Great staff and the bar side or outdoors provides the best experience. Parking is tight in that area and they have parking on the east side of their building. I gave it an Excellent rating because of the tacos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

A rainy Sunday afternoon find. Great selection of beers and Tito's vodka. Cody was the best bartender. Chips and salsa , guacamole was so so delicious. Best place for Mexican food we have found in Charlotte in 22 years. Great location also. Parking spaces are a little small but we worked it out. Outdoor deck also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Standout among all of the Charlotte taco shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Maverick Rock Taco opened up in the last year in the same spot where 15 North Roadside Kitchen was located. The new restaurant is part of the same ownership as Nolen Kitchen, one of the best spots in the Myers Park area. The first thing you notice at Maverick is the trendy interior design. In the back dining room, walls are painted top to bottom with classic rock band logos. It looks to be done freehand with airbrush, and lends a great feel to the place. In the hallway between the front and back dining areas, they have framed a bunch of record album covers. Great design touch. On busy nights, this place can be packed to the brim. It can get really loud in the front dining room around the bar so if you want to be able to hear each other talk, ask for a table in the back dining room. The wait staff here has been great during every visit. You can tell they have a great management training program for the wait staff. Table waiters and waitresses are extremely friendly and attentive to everything. Since 15 North was here, they added a few taps at the bar. There are six now, and they do a good job offering great microbrews. They only have a handful of bottles available, but they have an excellent selection of cans. For appetizers, we almost always get the queso with chips. Queso is served in a little skillet, which is usually hot enough to brand cattle at the table. The complimentary chips and salsa are great. Salsa has a roasted flavor, very fresh. The only thing we've had here in two or three trips comes off the "Street Tacos" part of the menu. One of my personal favorites is definitely the Blackened Mako Shark. It comes with corn relish, and is drizzled with Avocado creme. You have the option of soft corn or flour, and an unusual bibb lettuce. I always go for the corn tortillas, which is much more authentic to a Mexican taqueria. Shark is great, cut into cubes. Another great taco is the Jalapeno Mahi Mahi. You usually get two huge spears of Mahi on this taco along with some shredded cabbage, pico de gallo, and jalapeno creme. We have also had the Adobo Spiced Chicken Tinga taco, and just recently tried the Fried Avocado. Both of those were great, too. Maverick is a lively place to eat on Montford Drive, which has so many different options now. As far as all of these taco shops popping up on every corner in Charlotte, Maverick is really one of the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food in this place is really great. We each ordered a different margarita and shared them around the table...what fun. The Presidente was truly "top shelf" and the mix was not out of a bottle. The guacamole was fresh, creamy and good, but the salsa was even better with very fresh and flavorful ingredients. We all ordered different tacos and shared them as well. The fried avocado was a favorite, but I really enjoyed the mahi. The mole sauce on the chicken was perfect and I'm pretty picky about mole sauce. All in all a great time of sharing and fun. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maverick Rock Taco also viewed

 

Been to Maverick Rock Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maverick Rock Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.