We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying Dutchman Soars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blumenthal Performing Arts Center

Blumenthal Performing Arts Center
130 North Tryon Street, Lion King Live, Charlotte, NC 28202 (First Ward)
704-372-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 70 Activities in Charlotte
Type: Theaters, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Presenting the best of broadway close to home. Upcoming events include The Full Monty, 42nd Street and more!
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Flying Dutchman Soars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our first time to see opera in North Carolina and The Flying Dutchman was great! The staging was wonderful. Greer Grimsley was phenomenal as The Dutchman. Jason Wickson had a strong performance as Erik the hunter. The venue is great as we were had seats in Orchestra Center that had plenty of legroom. Drinks can be taken to your seats. Don't be late or you will have to wait until intermission which is a good rule. Nice to have opera in Charlotte and this is a great place to see it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    30
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Generally a nice night out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have been to many very good events at the Blumenthal. Last night we went to "Evita" as part of Broadway Lights. The sound quality was not great. We struggled to understand the lead female and the chorus. And while the Blumenthal has a large stage they chose to do the production on a small front section using film behind. This gave it a two dimensional feeling. Some people left at intermission and the applause was tepid. This was unfair to the beautiful voices of the male leads and the supporting actresses. They also have insufficient bathroom capacity and the intermission had to be prolonged as patrons, both male and female, waited in very long lines. The seating is very comfortable but the theater always heats up as the night goes on and I have learned to start with a sweater and progress to short sleeves by the end of the night. So most of my complaints were specific to this event. I am sure we will return.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice arts experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Saw the touring company of "The Book of Mormon" in this beautiful performing arts venue. Sat in last row of the grand tier. Excellent sight lines. Good sound. Roomy seats even for us with long legs. Able to take your cocktail to your seat and enjoy it during the show. Overflowing with helpful staff everywhere you turn, all very gracious and anxious to make sure your experience is an enjoyable one. The only negative: too few restrooms, especially since the one on our level was out of service!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome location for symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Took my mother to see Handel's Messiah and the experience was fantastic. From the super friendly volunteers to the really cool "throw back" ambiance we really enjoyed see the show. We had excellent seats, with the only "complaint" being the narrow style of the seats.
Love the location, ease of getting there, and the phenomenal access to restaurants nearby and within walking distance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Modern and Functional Belk Theater at the Blumenthal PAC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My first visit to this venue, I saw Matthew Bourne's "Sleeping Beauty" (a 5 star performance itself). Our seats in the third row of the mezzanine level were excellent. After the show we checked out seats in different locations and didn't find any we preferred enough to justify paying more. The front rows of the grand tier were better, but the back rows I thought were worse than going higher but more forward where we were. Sitting in the orchestra level gives you a different, more head on perspective, but since the rows are not as pitched it would be possible to have your view blocked by someone taller sitting in front of you. For a dance concert, I might sit more to the front of the orchestra to get a better view of the costumes and facial expression, but anything where the music is important I would sit in the front of the grand tier or mezzanine (depending on what my budget allows).

As a newer theater, the Belk does not have some of the elegant touches of an older theater, but it is very comfortable and functional. The seats are comfortable and there is ample leg room. At least on the men's side, there was no problem getting going to the bathroom during the intermission.

I look forward to seeing more shows here.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blumenthal Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to Blumenthal Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.