We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Uptown Charlotte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunhill Hotel to your Saves list
Dunhill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Fourth Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greensboro, NC USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Uptown Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is a little gem. The guest rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The lobby and public areas are very welcoming and attractive. However, the staff is what really makes this hotel standout. Everyone was friendly, courteous and extremely good at going the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and welcome. They also offer free transportation to and from the Amtrak station.

The restaurant is also excellent. We ended up having an early dinner there the first night and our rate included breakfast the next morning. Both meals were outstanding.

We go to Charlotte several times a year for cultural events and the Dunhill Hotel will now be our preferred hotel for all of our trips!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    79
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
39
126
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went to Charlotte to see the show Celtic Nights at Spirit Square. The show was at 8:00p.m. and we arrived at 11:00a.m., obviously too early to check in at the hotel. We were able to have the concierge store our bags and the valet parked our vehicle. All of this accomplished in about 3 minutes, by the friendliest and most pleasant staff as anyone could ask for.

My wife wanted us to go do some shopping and to have lunch at Ri-Ra's Irish pub, so off we went. We met our son at the Pub around 2:00pm, had a great lunch and visited for a while. Got back to the Dunhill around 5:00pm. We were handed our room key and when I asked for our bags, we were told that they were already in our room.

We went to our room and it was virtually perfect! Light, CLEAN with a great bathroom that was larger than our master bath at home. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and even with the street noise, I was able to enjoy a nap before the show without any problems whatsoever.

I forgot to mention that this hotel is located directly between RiRa's and the theater and you can almost spit from the hotel and hit each. An absolutely perfect location!

After the show we enjoyed a couple of libations at the cozy, lobby bar where the drinks were excellent and the bartender (wish I could remember his name) was again - as professional and friendly as you could hope for.

The complimentary full American breakfast was served in the light, pleasant dining room by attentive, but not overbearing, servers and was delicious! Later in the day our son, daughter and son-in-law met us for brunch and they were just as impressed with the meals and the service as we were and this is saying something because they have "done their time" as servers and bartenders and manger in the Charlotte restaurant trade. It takes quite a bit to impress them. As an aside - the prices were so reasonable as to be almost ludicrous. (As was the room rate!)

All in all - if you are visiting Charlotte and want true value and service in an ideal location in the uptown, give the Dunhill as try. You'll be glad you did!

All in all,

Room Tip: If you want a room on the "street side", you'll be better off on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed here on my first trip to Charlotte a few years back. I was in town for a interview. Stayed two nights. I enjoyed staying here. The price was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. Plus, you get a bit more here. The hotel is historic and has lots of character. The service at the front desk was great. They were very helpful considering I had never been to Charlotte. The room itself was elegant and comfortable. It was clean. No issues to speak of. I now live in the Charlotte area and walk past this hotel everyday. I would stay here if I was visiting. It is right in the middle of Uptown Charlotte. Steps away from restaurants, museums, wine shops, etc. This is a great option if you are looking for something different than your run of the mill chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

First, this is an old hotel, totally renovated, nice and staff is great. It would have been better if I had not found a 3" cockroach in the bathroom. I thought he was going to beat me up, as he looked me straight in the eye, but I stomped and flushed him...I know this can be an issue in older locations, downtown locations, etc., and I saw not evidence of any of his "little friends" but it was disconcerting.

Our room was very small but nicely appointed. The price was high, with paid parking, all things considered.

Room Tip: The rooms across from the elevators are TINY. Ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

ended up in charlotte very last minute, found the dunhill thru trip advisor... great location..close to museums, galleries, great restaurants..didn't have a lot of time to fully explore area, but plenty nearby to keep busy.. while room was a bit small, the hotel was clean, quiet..service was excellent.. great breakfast included in price.. probably the best oatmeal ever!! good value...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Although this was not my first choice (my usual hotel was booked), I was so pleased to have made the switch. The location is excellent in uptown Charlotte. Its close to great restaurants, coffee and other venues such as museums and theater. The rooms are small but well appointed. There is a mini fridge and some complementary sodas/water/and coffee maker. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Although I did not use it, there is also there is a hotel shuttle that will make local trips downtown. They honored my request for no feather bedding and no perfumed cleaning fluids. Probably the only "real" downside is the complementary soaps, which have a very unpleasant pine smell. I definitely plan on staying next time I'm in Charlotte!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for business. Very nice hotel, close to where I needed to be. The week I was there, they were renovating the kitchen and/or dining area, so service for breakfast was a little slow. Food was very good. Friendly bartenders.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.