We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dunhill Hotel to your Saves list
Dunhill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Although this was not my first choice (my usual hotel was booked), I was so pleased to have made the switch. The location is excellent in uptown Charlotte. Its close to great restaurants, coffee and other venues such as museums and theater. The rooms are small but well appointed. There is a mini fridge and some complementary sodas/water/and coffee maker. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Although I did not use it, there is also there is a hotel shuttle that will make local trips downtown. They honored my request for no feather bedding and no perfumed cleaning fluids. Probably the only "real" downside is the complementary soaps, which have a very unpleasant pine smell. I definitely plan on staying next time I'm in Charlotte!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    70
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
109
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for business. Very nice hotel, close to where I needed to be. The week I was there, they were renovating the kitchen and/or dining area, so service for breakfast was a little slow. Food was very good. Friendly bartenders.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from the Dunhill today for a weekend getaway. We had a fantastic stay! For around $160 (taxes included) per night, we were able to stay in a fantastic location right in the middle of uptown Charlotte. The staff was amazing, very kind, and efficient...every single one of them. Our stay also included a large breakfast which was extremely good (eggs, grits, bacon, toast, etc). They offer a free shuttle service which is great when you are going to dinner. Our driver Mike was one of the kindest people I have ever encountered. He drove us to The Fig Tree restaurant for dinner (great meal!!). Other awesome things about the Dunhill: they have their own restaurant/bar, hot coffee/tea available, warm cookies in the evening, Thymes bath products, and a fridge in your room with cold sodas and water at no extra charge. I could go on and on...bottom line this place is fantastic! I will definitely plan on returning!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

In an uptown district that is new, new, new, the Dunhill holds court as she has since 1929, in the ultra-convenient location of North Tryon St. at Sixth. All the employees are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and they supply the mini-fridge with free Coke products and water. Our room (402) was a double queen, and though near the elevator, was nice and quiet. The shape of the room was odd; long and narrow, creating the occasional bottleneck, but the bathroom was nicely updated and the beds were great. No on-site gym, but they have an agreement with a workout club close by. We didn't try the restaurant, but it seemed always popular. There's a cool bar in the lobby, and a baby grand piano which is sometimes played. Perfect location and easy parking in the attached garage - $12/day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel within walking distance of museums, art galleries, nightlife, restaurants and so much more. Pleasant welcoming comments from the staff and helpful suggestions. They were exceptional, from booking the room to the 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. Clean, quiet and luxurious ~ from bed to bath ~ with attention to every detail to make it a comfortable stay. Sunday brunch in the hotel dining room was a delight. I definitely will make a return visit. So much to see in Charlotte!

Room Tip: The rooms that I saw were all well-appointed with somewhat different decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville sc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here one night for play across the street at Blumenthal auditorium. Even on a cold, rainy day, everything we needed was within walking distance. Stayed in a room overlooking the street and downtown. It was a little noisy, but the sounds of the city added to the ambiance. Furnishings and paintings gave it an historic and comfortable feel but had all the conveniences we needed. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dunhill for the Belk Bowl. From the time we arrived until our departure, we were treated with kindness and professionalism. The front desk was very helpful and got us into our room a little early. The room was clean and well suited for our needs. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water. Our complimentary breakfast was very good and a wonderful surprise. Parking did cost us $12 but was located directly behind the hotel. We will definitely visit the Dunhill again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.