We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunhill Hotel to your Saves list
The Dunhill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Fourth Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classy hotel with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I had to stay in downtown Charlotte for business and the Dunhill was reommended. The hotel is quaint with character but has all of the modern conveniences of a brand new hotel. I loved it and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    82
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
41
130
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked a room at Dunhill three weeks in advance (prepaid through Hotels.com) for a colleague. When he showed up this morning, he was told the hotel was full and they had no record of the reservation. Since Charlotte was completely booked, he was out of luck. Hotels.com called the hotel and was told the hotel was overbooked, but agreed we had a reservation and they would refund. RIDICULOUS! Of course, if I don't show up, I am charged the room rate, but if the hotel cancels on me, there is no penalty for the hotel. This hotel is unworthy of four stars.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDunhillHotel, General Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am extremely disappointed we did not have the opportunity to welcome your colleague. Upon further research with Hotels.com it was found that the reservation did not merge into our reservation system. We confirmed with them that there would be no charge from the Dunhill Hotel for this technical error. We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your colleague another time.
Sincerely,
Craig Spitzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was in Charlotte for a wedding, and spent one night at the Dunhill. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Charlotte. Easy to walk to many venues. They provide a free English style cab to shuttle you around. The room was on the small side, but very clean, with a very comfortable bed. The staff was pleasant. The resturant was more like a snack bar, but just fine for breakfast. Parking garage right behind the hotel - $12.00 for self parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I always stay at the Dunhill for our Opera's. This last stay October 13, 2012 is our last.

In the past we have never experienced any problems with our room, except for the headboard broken upon arrival into our room. We thought the breakfast that is included in the price was nice since the following morning all we had to do was go downstairs rather than search for a restaurant. Each time we have eaten in the hotel restaurant it looked as though the staff was confused and had no idea what to do. I ordered my eggs over medium. Apparently the chef's definition of over medium is to put the egg on the fryer and put it on the plate. My eggs were barely cooked. They were so raw that I am certain it would not meet restaurant food safety standards. I sent them back only to have completely hard eggs that were rubber. Needless to say I didn't eat them since I don't care to eat rubber.

Another stay we had breakfast once again, giving the restaurant another chance. My order was completely wrong. Ordered French toast, got eggs and bacon! When the correct order finally came out there was a long hair in the food! Yet another meal that was not eaten but paid for.

Foolishly my husband and I continued to stay at the hotel because we liked the location in relation to the Blumenthal theatre and we found that hotel to be less noisy than others. We had just decided that we would not bother with the breakfast even though we pay for it in the price.

This past stay upon our arrival we were told the hotel was overbooked. We were given the option to move to another of their properties and would have a complimentary shuttle. My husband and I declined. Once we got to our room we realized the person who checked us in neglected to tell us the room is a downgrade from what we booked. However, we paid the price of the room we actually booked. The bathroom was extremely small, not like what we're used to when staying there.

We have been disappointed in the past with this hotel. Mainly the restaurant, but this last stay was the straw that broke the camels back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summerville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dunhill for just one night - we just wanted to have a short trip out of town - and I am very thankful we decided to go with the Dunhill. It was clean, staff was friendly, bed was comfy, and it was a great quiet retreat away from busyness even though it was in a great location in downtown charlotte.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We traveled to Charlotte last weekend for wedding, and stayed at the charming Dunhill. Within walking distance of shopping, parks, music, museums, and nightlife, it is well- appointed and warm. The staff is courteous and efficient. The room itself was just the right size for both of us; a very comfortable bed and fluffy pillows, flat screen TV, writing desk, ample storage , modern bathroom, and lovely view of uptown Charlotte from our window. Soda and water in the room refrigerator are complementary. There is no ice machine, but ice is readily and quickly available upon request. I needed a scissors and had one in hand in under 5 minutes.
We stayed for $109/night, which was the group wedding rate, and would stay again if our travels bring us back to Charlotte!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Dunhill is one of our favorite hotels. My husband and I book it for every panthers game.
We love the people that work there, the rooms, the little lobby bar. The service is impeccable
and the staff really does make it feel like home. The cookies that are in the lobby are yummy and the restaurant is fresh and wonderful. We always look forward to staying at the Dunhill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#21 of 171 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#60 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Hilton Charlotte Center City
#53 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#41 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen, who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor Apartment Hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various ongoing aesthetic improvements all share a common goal-to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.