We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with lot of tradition - centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dunhill Hotel to your Saves list
Dunhill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Kilchberg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel with lot of tradition - centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is a Historic Hotel, extremely centrally located, in proximity (walking distance) to museums (Bechtler, Discovery), theatres an restaurant. Good service, variety of breakfast options is huge, bar next door has a lot of charm. Unfortunately we did only stay one night.
Hotel is easy to find, exit 277 (North Tryon) and parking is just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    73
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
115
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have always had good experiences with Historic Hotels of America properties and the Dunhill was no exception. The price was reasonable; the location was perfect; the service was attentive and accommodating; the hotel was warm and inviting; the room was spacious and comfortable; the food was fresh and delicious. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #807, a corner room. Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just enjoyed a short stay in this well located hotel. A welcome change from the typical 'corporate' chain hotels with a cozy feel and personality. The entire staff were extremely accommodating and provided friendly service that echoed a 'can do' attitude to ensure a pleasant stay. The adjacent Harvest Moon restaurant breakfasts are a nice inclusion.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you have not looked at the Dunhill as the place for your wedding block, then you should. We were very pleased with the level of service that we received from the Dunhill and got tons of compliments from our wedding guests on how much they enjoyed staying there. We live in New York City, so we had a number of New York-ers as guests. The location and the unique-ness of the hotel made it a memorable experience for all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Dunhill for 2 nights midweek in July and I must say it exceeded our expectations! The front desk staff was friendly and check in was seamless. We stayed in the Penthouse which was Amazing! As soon as we opened the door to the room we realized that this has to be one of the cities "hidden gems". I can't imagine that there could be a more romantic room in the city! When you walk in, there's a beautiful foyer with an elegant mirrored wall and marble floors, a large living room with a built in entertainment center and flat screen tv as well as a fireplace. The master bedroom was very spacious with a flat screen tv and we found the bed to be very comfortable. The master bath had luxury toiletries, robes and a jacuzzi tub that was huge and very relaxing. The room itself is a corner unit with 2 large balconies with patio furniture so you can enjoy the night overlooking the city. We also enjoyed the complimentary sodas and water in the fridge as well as the keurig coffee maker/pods and USA Today. We used the Ipod docking station and complimentary Wi-Fi as well. When we arrived on Wednesday they had a reception with wine/beer and complimentary hors' d oeuvres which was nice. We loved the look and feel of the lobby bar. The bar was busy but the bartender was still very attentive and even recommended some micro brews that we're very good. Unfortunately, we weren't able to try the restaurant since we already had plans with friends in the morning. However, I love local farm to table restaurants and it was busy which is usually a good indication they serve good food. We didn't use the complimentary shuttle but we thought that was a nice added feature. Self parking was $12 which we felt was inline to be in the city and didn't mind paying with everything else we received that was complimentary .You're also so convenient to everything. We enjoyed Blue Restaurant one evening which was just around the corner from the hotel (try the Boar) which is in a separate review. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were in town on usiness and thought astay in historic hotel would be a nice change. We were wrong!!! First room we checked into was just dirty (stains on pilow, floors not clean) and then we asked to be moved. The next room was not any bette. The floors were stained, furniture old, and again just not clean. We stuck it out for two nights but would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Although we only stayed here for one night (Friday), the experience was unforgettable! From the friendly & efficient check-in (free bottle of water offered by the Manager) to the quality of the Room and the brilliant Staff, everything about this Hotel oozes quality. Charlotte is a big city and I assume this Hotel is frequented by Business travellers during the week. Breakfast was great with lots on offer and friendly waiter service. If we are ever in the vicinity again, this will be our first call!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.