We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem right in the heart of the Queen City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VBGB Beer Hall & Garden

VBGB Beer Hall & Garden
902 Hamilton Street, Charlotte, NC 28206
704-333-4111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,940 restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Located at NC Music Factory compound in Charlotte, VBGB has a great beer selection and delicious food (especially the soft pretzel with beer cheese sauce). It reminds me of the beer gardens that are ubiquitous in central Europe, but the beer is cold (not to mention the frost rail on the bar). I've been going there since it opened earlier this year, and more people need to know about it!
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gem right in the heart of the Queen City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

In a word I can sum up this place with GENIUS!! The atmosphere is fun, upbeat and never ever dull. Something for everyone of all ages from the huge chess set outside, board games to play at the tables, corn hole and of course Trivia on Thursday nights! The food is mouthwatering delicious, priced moderately and always served with a smile. We visit often when we see shows at the Fillmore and on any Thursday that we can make it. Our kids love it anytime someone visits from out of town, we bring them here. They are the only place that I know of that carries my favorite beer, blue point blueberry ale. They have many delicious craft beers to choose from! Their Wango tango wings are delicious, their pickles fried to perfection and their juicy burgers served on a pretzel bun...scrumptious! Love this place, from quality of service, quality of food and location!! If you're in Charlotte you need to visit this hot spot!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    18
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grab a beer before the concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

VBGB's is right next to the Filmore and a great place for dinner and a drink before a concert. There is a huge selection of beer on tap, something for everyone. The atmosphere is cool and laid back, with bar seating and large picnic benches inside. You order food at a counter and take a number, which you place on your table for the servers to bring out. There really isn't a "wait staff," but the simple menu doesn't require more than a couple of napkins which you can get yourself along with plastic ward and any condiments. The food is typical pub fare, but very good. I recommend the pulled chicken sandwich, sweet potato fries and jumbo pretzel. I love to visit in the summer because there is a large outdoor patio with corn hole, giant chess and a giant connect four board to play on a sunny day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beer and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a wonderful place to meet friends for craft beer and great food. They have Corn hole, Giant Jenga, Giant Chess, Giant Connect Four on a huge patio. Good times! I always take friends that come in town to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very cool late night hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I wouldn't call this a true German Biergarten, then again, I don't think they would either, but the selection of beers on draught were plentiful, and despite the fact they serve it in plastic cups, there is an ice trough at the bar to keep it cool in. They have mixed drinks and shots as well, so invite your friends who aren't "that into beer" and they will be ok.

There was music and games going on outside, but after a long day of walking around we just wanted to chill at the bar, which was massive and well staffed. After you place your drink order, you can walk up to the food counter and order a pretzel or some wings or brats. We tried the pretzel, it comes with beer cheese or you can squeeze your own three different types of mustard.

I'm not from Charlotte, but it is on a busy section of town with a ton of other clubs and bars, so be careful driving there at night as inebriated people don't pay much attention to cross walks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hang out spot with friends! Great crowed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Cool bar with a great selection of craft beers. Nice place to hang out with friends. They serve food, although we didn't have dinner there. I noticed some of the customers eating this giant pretzel which looked quite delectable. Has picnic style seating inside too. Group of friends and I hung out here on Sat night in March. The bar has corn-hole games in the back too, although the bar games were located outside... I'm from FL and didn't dare go out and play corn-hole in March lol.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VBGB Beer Hall & Garden also viewed

 

Been to VBGB Beer Hall & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VBGB Beer Hall & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.