We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Charlotte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Charlotte to your Saves list
Westin Charlotte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #57 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Another great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just wanted to share my thoughts on the experience I had with this hotel. Special notice to Paula Singletary who does a great job each and every year handling the rooming needs for CIAA. We have been attending each year since the tournament has been in Charlotte and stay at the Westin each year. Ensure you keep Paula happy, because she is one of the reason a lot of travelers return to your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We love Paula! She is a true asset to our team! We love having guests like you who stay with us each year for the CIAA conference as well! We hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    310
    174
    86
    51
See reviews for
91
173
53
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is nice, a little pricey but great location. We arrived at 3:00 Friday afternoon, expecting to check in by 4 and then get ready for our event. The line to check in snaked all through the lobby, hallways, and to the parking deck elevators. We waited in line for 1 hr 15 min and finally went to the bathroom the change clothes/ get ready and had to return our luggage to our car. At that point the line had moved a little but it was easy to see the check in process would take more than 2 hours and we had a game at 5:30. My daughter was playing volleyball games across the street. I returned between games at 7:00 and 8:00 and there was still a line. I had a friend with a little one that I had told could use our room for her child to take a nap early evening. He had to sleep in the car. We finally checked in around 9:30, exhausted and had to carry all of our luggage up from the parking deck. I was not a happy camper. Several women in line were there for the Mary Kay convention and remarked that it is like this every year...why in the world would they return? So if you have an event on a Friday night and need a room before 10 pm...don't stay here. Unlike other hotels that handle large groups, The Westin hasn't figured it out and apparently have no plans to do so.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hall. People getting on/off the elevators at all hours seem to think e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the unusual check-in delays that you experienced during your stay. To have to wait that long to get into a room is not common at our hotel, as we understand the importance of a quick check-in. We do hope you and your daughter will stay with us again very soon, so we can show you both a true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

There were several events scheduled at the same time as our business conference. I was extremely pleased with the way the check-in, for what seemed like hundreds of people, was mastered. We were told that it could possibly take about 1 1/2 hours, the staff was extremely kind in making sure we were comfortable while waiting--and it did not take that long. All of our request were addressed quickly and pleasantly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy, don't worry the elevators are quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Sheena was so pleasent and informative. She made me want to stay at this location went I come back to Charlotte. And I told all my family and friend to stay there to. It is not one hotel that I stayed in, in the passed that I would take out the time to give a Employee a Comment until now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to mention Sheena in your review! She is a true asset to our team! We hope you will be back to visit us again very soon! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have used the Westin Charlotte on multiple occassions over the years and have always had a positive experience. The meeting space is excellent as well as the service staff. Sleeping rooms are updated and kept nicely. Hotel is very conveniently located 15 minutes from the airport. Charlotte has lots of restuarants and activities to offer as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few days in March. The hotel is conveniently located across from the Charlotte Convention Center - where I was on business. The hotel is in a great location in pretty much in the heart of Charlotte. Lots of restaurants, bars, and a nice park within walking distance. NASCAR Hall of Fame is also right around the corner. Neat attraction to check out. The hotel itself is updated and modern. I had a one bedroom suite with a living room area and 2 bathrooms. Rooms were nice. Check in was a breeze. I must say the staff was very friendly and attentive. The only complaint I have is that the housekeeping service was not up to par. Room was barely cleaned during my stay and never left any clean towels. Other then that, I would definitely stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to know you enjoyed our convenient location. We hope you’ll be visiting the Queen City again very soon! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was initially excited to be staying in a Westin, but have to say was overall disappointed with our room, the noise, and cleanliness of hallways. We were given a room with a severely damaged window seal, so that we were totally unable to see out of it. I reported this to the service desk who promised they would have someone look into the problem and no one ever contacted us. On our 4th day, I finally spoke to someone at main desk again about problem and asked if we could get some sort of compensation as we had already been in room for 3 nights. Was told I could only get 500pts added but no other compensation. I did also receive a phone call which stated they could not do anything about the window at that time. I have a hard time believing that no one was aware of such a serious window defect before booking into the room. It should have been closed to guests until fixed. It was also very noisy throughout our stay - we could hear guests in adjoining rooms having sex and the hallways were always noisy. The same strips of paper garbage were in the hallway for our entire week stay. The hallway was not vacuumed at all. Also we opted to only have our room serviced one time (green clean) and housekeeping took our used towels and bathmat, but neglected to provide us with new ones, so that we were then short towels. The room however, was clean and large enough. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. Also the Ember Grille Restaurant was very good. In general the staff were friendly and helpful, but we were disappointed that there was no dedicated Concierge desk or service. We were told to use the Main desk and the staff were not knowledgeable about local tours, museums or things to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our Heavenly® Beds and our restaurant, Ember Grille. We are sorry we were unable to exceed your expectations during the rest of your visit. We do invite you to stay with us again so we can show you a true Westin experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Charlotte

Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#38 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#46 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.