We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Hotel...Westin Charlotte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Charlotte

Save Saved
You added Westin Charlotte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Charlotte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Faison, North Carolina
2 reviews
“First Rate Hotel...Westin Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Top Notch Hotel - Very nice room! Outstanding views. All employees were wonderfully helpful. Love the valet service for parking and also for luggage. Will always stay at Westin for any uptown visit to Charlotte.

Room Tip: Pick as high up as possible for good views of either uptown Charlotte or southside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighting to know our views, rooms and team members helped make your stay more enjoyable. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    234
    146
    70
    41
See reviews for
69
139
50
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Joined my husband at this hotel while he was on business. The room was very clean and comfortable with nice furnishings, the workout facilities were very nice and the location was convenient to what we wanted to do. However, the restaurant and Starbucks service was slow and unprepared for a weekend early morning crowd. The hotel could improve in this area because the rest of our stay was delightful. Good, convenient coffee and a paper in the morning have come to be two of our requirements of a hotel stay. The paper was in the lobby every morning, including the Wall Street Journal to my husband's delight, the coffee was good once we got it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for any service you received that was not as quick and efficient as you would have liked, but are delighted to know you enjoyed your coffee! We’re glad our clean comfortable rooms left you feeling relaxed. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The company I'm here with picked this hotel for us to stay at for a convention; I was a little weary, as my personal taste is for more kitchy boutique style hotels. I love the room! The view of uptown Charlotte is spectacular, the front desk is very helpful with finding anything you could ever need, and the beds are so comfy, you're not gonna want to get out of them!

Room Tip: the higher up, the better the view. I stayed on the 10th floor, but made my way up to the 25th, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are delighted that despite your initial hesitations that you ended up loving our hotel! We hope now you will be a frequent visitor of not only The Westin Charlotte but all Westin hotels! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Hotel along with many other participants of the 40 mile Avon Breast Cancer Walk in October. During 2 days days of serious walking most of us were able to rest quietly Friday & Saturday nights.The staff was friendly and competent. Could have been more knowledgeable
however about the event itself. They seemed surprised that so many women and their families were there. The Starbucks & breakfast dinning service were horrible though because they did not open until 6am. They should have known we were in the lobby by 5am!
They lost money and inconvenienced many walkers. Room service menu needs expanding as well.
Not very healthy or light.

The rooms were comfortable and quiet and if you ask for a high floor the view of Charlotte is
beautiful.

It is in a good location. There were restaurants, bars and places of interest within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for city view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your success in helping fight breast cancer with the Avon Walk in Charlotte! We are delighted to know you enjoyed the area as well as our comfortable and quiet rooms. We will use your feedback to better service our guests in the future. We hope you’ll be back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first visit to The Westin in Charlotte, NC. It was perfectly situated to tour downtown by foot, or hop on the highway behind the hotel for further reaching tourism.
The rooms were spacious and elegant. I will definitely consider staying here again on my next trip to The Queen City.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, but only one side of the hotel faces downtown Charlotte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to know that our ideal location in the heart of the Queen City made your stay more enjoyable. We hope your next visit is sooner rather than later! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall I had a pretty good experience here. It is about what you would expect from a Westin. Good staff, nice room, all the expected amenities. The building, like many in downtown Charlotte, has a unique architectural design as well. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. Our unique Portman designed building really does strike a prominent note in the Charlotte skyline! We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here in October for a convention. The hotel was extremely full and felt they did a great job of keeping common areas neat, housekeeping was fine, and the front desk was responsive when needed. The one thing I would recommended would be to expand the restaurant facilities and menu. They couldn't meet the demand of a full hotel, although they did provide names and numbers of local restaurants that would deliver food to the hotel. Location was great, particularly to the local Metro. The Metro platform was just outside the back of the hotel with extremely easy access. Two stops away from the Convention Center, which was very quick and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted our convenient location, clean common areas and friendly front desk team all helped contribute to the success of your visit! We do hope you’ll be back to stay with us again soon! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Charlotte

Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Charlotte 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.