We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Charlotte

Save Saved
You added Westin Charlotte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Charlotte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
West Simsbury, CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great room and staff was excellent. Needed to get to the airport and had a cab within 5 minutes. Room and bed comfort over the top. Definately will come back..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to know your stay here at the Westin Charlotte during the wedding weekend was enjoyable. We will have a Heavenly Bed® waiting for you the next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    237
    146
    70
    41
See reviews for
69
139
50
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Recently stayed 5 days at the Westin in CLT and really regretted not using my company discount to stay at the new Ritz instead. Yes we used cash and SPG points to only pay $60 per night, and I guess we got what we paid for... a $60 Motel experience of substandard customer service and dated rooms with beat up amenities.

Except upon check in, not once did anyone open the front doors for us, even when we had packages and when there were staff standing at the doors! We sat for an hour in the lobby bar at a table waiting for the bartender someone to take our drink order but that never happened. We only had 2 new soaps the entire 5 day stay, even when our poor soap shrunk to a twisted oddity it wasnt replaced. And forget about the self parking keys ever working - it became a running joke that we'd go to the front desk to tell them we had a car and get our key cards zapped so that it worked in the parking garage - then to be stopped at the gate b/c the cards never worked and the guard would have to call and verify we were guests, repeat over and over this process.

We were also bummed to learn that the fitness center was closed considering we dragged all our clunky gym stuff w us - but I guess we should have reseaerched that first.

The lady at the front desk was very apologetic when I told her about all this, and comped us our 5 days of parking charges. But I cannot recommend this hotel as a Starwood property - it failed on so many levels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We apologize your stay at The Westin Charlotte did not exceed your expectations. We just finished completion on Westin Workout® and now guests no longer have to bring their gym clothes with them. We have a full line of New Balance® workout gear available for our guests. We believe in preserving wellness in travel and with our New Balance® gear lending program, we hope working out will be more convenient for all of our guests. We hope in the future you will stay with us again and allow us to show you a true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

There is so much wrong with this property I don't know where to start! The Director of Sales needs to be removed from his position. He doesn't know the first thing about how to take care of his clients. We pay your salary!!!!! The food in the presidential suite was not kept at safe food handling temps. Sushi was left sit out without ice for 5 hours, yogurt in the morning had no ice and was left out for over 3 1/2 hours. These were only a few of the numerous mistakes this hotel made. In Embers they won't serve a burger less than "well done" they said its NC law! That is incorrect! They dont have a chef on staff and are afraid of food bourne illness and getting sued. The food and lack of customer service are not up to Westin standards. This place should be called Western as in Best Western! Because that is the service and property they most reflect. Buyer beware. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We passed through Charlotte and stayed over night. We needed a dog friendly hotel and not a dump. I found the Westin online and the rate was excellent (gov. rate). The Westin is just off the interstate and the re-entry ramp is right there to. Many restaurants to walk to within a few minutes.

The room was huge and the Heavenly Bed was extremely comfortable.

I look forwardto staying at this location again when I pass through Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to know your stay in our Heavenly Bed® left you feeling relaxed and renewed! We are also pleased to know your pet enjoyed our Heavenly Dog Bed ® as well! We hope you’ll be passing through Charlotte again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I'm an SPG member and was able to use a combination of cash and points. For the number of points and cash I spent, I was expecting more. However, if I were paying full price, I would have been disappointed. The pros are that:
-Great location downtown - close to so many things, including the stadium ( we were there for the ACC championship)
- very very comfortable bed
- shower has a double shower head, which is a great addition
Our issues were that we were in the room closest by the elevator and heard the ding everytime the down button was pushed. So even in our comfortable bed, we heard a lot of foot traffic. We also encountered a rude staff member during check in. And they have some kind of rule that they can't give out luggage carts so an employee HAS to bring it to your room, load your luggage and take it down (just thought this was weird). All in all, it really was just a room with a bed. Nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
We are delighted to know you are an SPG member and that you chose to stay at The Westin Charlotte during your trip to the Queen City! We hope you have many memorable moments from the ACC Championship. We’re glad you enjoyed the Heavenly Bed® as well as the Heavenly Shower ®. Next time you stay with us, we would be happy to place you in a room as far from the elevator as possible so that you leave feeling refreshed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I spent three nights here while attending an on-site conference in November. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel was typical of Westin properties -- great bed, and clean, new-feeling room. My only beef was that the fitness center was under renovation -- a fact the staff failed to mention upon check-in. The alternative facility was a narrow room with 5 or 6 treadmills -- not the end of the world, but kind of a bummer since Westins usually have really nice workout facilities. The location is fine -- it's right across the street from the conference center, and it's a block away from the city's arts complex and restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to know our recently renovated guest rooms left you feeling renewed! Our Westin Workout® Refresh is now complete so the next time you’re in the Queen City you’ll be able to power-up in an even better space. Check out our facebook page for photos of the transformation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Westin Charlotte. I requested a king bed on the top most floor and they honored my request. Everything is relatively new and clean.

With a king bed, they is extra room and the hotel puts in a chair with an ottoman--this is nice for reading.

It was business trip and I was able to work in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCharlotte, Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Charlotte and that we were able to honor your request for an upgraded room! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Charlotte

Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Charlotte 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.