We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncc visit needed hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites University Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites University Place to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites University Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 E McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #99 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    31
    23
    16
See reviews for
55
17
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay at this hotel twice a year for business and every stay has been exceptional. I haven't had one bad experience in over 3 years. The front desk is always very friendly and helpful. Carlo, the manager, is always greeting me and helping me if I need anything. I know they are doing renovations which will really make everything even better. I would recommend this hotel if your looking for location, value and a welcoming staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites University Place, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for a great feedback. We are looking forward to serving you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked into this hotel a half an hour ago and would not even put our luggage down. If I hadn't been so appalled I would have taken a photo. Filthy! The sofa was in shreds and totally disgusting. I've seen better on the side of the road. The carpet had not been vacuumed in a long time. We immediately went back down to the front desk and checked out! Another couple, that checked in after us came down to check out as well. This place should be closed down!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites University Place, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am sorry about the experience that you had at the property. We had addressed the issues and hope that you can come back and see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I literally just checked out of this awful hotel and I'm so relieved to be back on the road. As somebody just a few days ago stated in their review, the sofa bed had no sheets. We had wait an extended period of time because the housekeeper didn't understand what we wanted. Then, they gave us sheets for a queen size bed. I'm going to assume that they do not even stock sheets for their pull outs. In addition, the room was dirty and had bugs (I have pictures). 2 of the electrical outlets had no faceplates on them and 1 of the outlets was literally hanging out of the wall (pictures of that as well). My wife's light on her side of the bed flickered on and off throughout the night until she finally unplugged it. This was really the worst hotel experience I've ever had.

On a side note, I've stayed at Country Inn & Suites in other locations and have been very satisfied. I'm going to hope that this is just a fluke among the chain and perhaps a change of management is in order.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites University Place, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Sorry about the experience that you have at the property. We are currently working on our renovation to improve the property. Please give us a chance again when the renovation is complete at the end of June. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at the hotel, I would love to take care of you and your family. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I come to Charlotte about 3 times a year and always stay at this Country Inn & Suites. The staff has always been great and very helpful anytime I needed something. The location is very good and close to lots of shopping and restaurants. It looks like they are doing renovations so this will make a good hotel even better. I'll be back in a few months!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites University Place, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for a great feedback. Please continue to come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites University Place

Address: 131 E McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Carlson, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites University Place Hotel Charlotte
Country Inn And Suites University Place
Country Inn Charlotte
Country Inn University Place
Charlotte Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.