We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First in Flight Restaurant

First in Flight Restaurant
5501 Josh Birmingham Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28208
Improve this listing
Ranked #385 of 2,008 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Pricey sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The sushi was average in quality, not freshly made and pricey, even for airport fare. The plus side is that we had not expected to find a sushi place in an airport

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

It became a tradition for me to have dinner here on my way to Latin America through Charlotte. The food is consistently good and the service is great. I always have the salmon avocado roll with consistent success over the years. I tried some of the other rolls and liked them too, but I prefer the simpler ones. I will be here again next time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
722 reviews 722 reviews
524 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Hissho Sushi @ First in Flight Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

WE have partaken in the sushi here many times while in transit. Quick service and large portions a 12-piece roll is big enough for 2 people. Try the Goyza it is done nicely. We liked the Eel and the "Final Word" roll.

Saleeby Score for this location in an Airport 7/10.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from an airport restaurant but I was very impressed by the quality and freshness of the sushi at First in Flight. Looking forward to my next stopover!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, il
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Sushi on the go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is my favorite sushi spot for when I'm in transit at the Charlotte Airport...
Not only are the prices very nominal, the food is always fresh and comes in super fast, which is absolutely nessesary when at the airport.
The ambiance is very lively as there's a live Piano performance throughout the day and evening. You can people watch, listen to the music or gaze at the airlines coming to and leaving their gates.
The service has always been very friendly, courteous & quick!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First in Flight Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to First in Flight Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First in Flight Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.