We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Piece of Havana

A Piece of Havana
11126 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC
704-588-7883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Piece of Havana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #412 of 2,008 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Moss
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First time I ever had Cuban food was here. Our waiter was very patient answering our questions about what was on the menu and explaining in detail. Restaurant has an "at home" welcoming feel to it. I think I gained 5 lbs just from dessert alone. Great place to go when you want something different. I will be back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Cuban Food in Charlotte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I love this restaurant! The food is great and really authentic. I love the sweet plantains, empanadas, and Havana Chicken! The prices are reasonable and the portions generous. The one negative experience I've had was getting seating during a private party and fight night event. We waited 30 minutes and never got seated. Other than that, it's always been great! I love taking people here, and they always end up loving it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Cuban Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a restaurant that I had driven by a number of times and thought I would get a couple of take-away meals to try it out. I sat at the bar and had a Tropical guava Mojito, which was a very good suggestion by the bartender. He also recommended a Cuban Skirt Steak and the Mahi Grilled Fish. Both meals were very tasty. Another nice surprise was a duo playing Cuban Music which I enjoyed while waiting for my food. The service was good and the décor was very plush. It was a nice experience and we will look forward to enjoying another meal here in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice alternative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been to A Piece of Havana several times in the past year. It's always a decent meal with good service at a fair price. We enjoy the empanadas and the Cuban sandwiches. I wouldn't say we're blown away by any particular aspect of the experience, but it's a good place to try if you're looking for something different. They have live music on weekends and we were there recently to experience that. Honestly, I was hoping for authentic Cuban music, but I was disappointed when the musician led off with an instrumental version of the painful 70s song "Let's Get Physical." It really seemed like a non-sequitur. Maybe it got more authentic as the evening wore on, but the first couple of songs weren't quite the Cuban fare I was expecting. All in all, though, it's worth a shot if you're looking for something different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

You can't go wrong here. On our short stay, we ate here twice because it is so good. The stewed beef and the pork dishes were WONDERFUL. The menu is very authentic and everything we tried was flavorful and tender. We are planning to move to the area and this will be one of our favorite restaurants. BTW, the pricve range is really about $8 to $30. Enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Piece of Havana also viewed

 

Been to A Piece of Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Piece of Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.