We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Than A Cockroach Motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4930 Sunset Road, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Tarawa Terrace
1 review
“Worse Than A Cockroach Motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I swear it looked like someone was murdered in the bathroom. Very unclean, holes in the bed covers...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good Morning,

We are sorry you feel that way. We change our covers and sheets each time they get holes burnt by absentminded customers. Our rooms are cleaned by professional housekeepers with many years of experience, Our high occupancy shows that there is a wide acceptance for this property. We welcome you to come back and try us again. I am sure you will like our upgraded rooms.

rgds

Hal Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    18
    11
    30
See reviews for
13
20
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburndale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The first room they gave us there was broken glass outside & then there was glass in the carpet & NO pillow cases on the pillows so they gave us a different room. The next morning I went to McDonalds & got breakfast & when I came back, the stall where I had my car parked there was a broken car window laying in the stall. We almost left & went somewhere else but we stayed BUT will NEVER RETURN.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good Morning,

We are sorry for the broken glass in the parking lot. It is very difficult to restrain funloving customers specially at night. Also we do not sponsor any designated parking, you can park in any vacant stall you like.

Please come back and visit us, we would love for you to give us another try.

rgds

Hal Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the 26th March 2013 for one night, as we were travelling through. We stayed in room 101, a non-smoking king.
The Hotel sits behind a Day's Inn and looks a little shabby all round. The first room that we were offered 119, also a non-smoking king -stank of stale tobacco. When we went to complain the most helpful manager offered to walk us around other N/S Kings, hence we landed up in 101. Indeed when we arrived he was waiting to take another guest around to offer her another room!!!!
Although our room wasn't "Dirty" it wasn't very clean either and the bed mounting had seen much better days. The sheet, clean but with some holes in were read to retire themselves. Breakfast was a minimum "Continental" served in the check-in area. Indeed we saw another guest find another use for the Ice-bucket - he filled it half full with breakfast Cereal, plates etc and walked out!!!
These low end Super 8 Hotels can do nothing for the Product and serve only to confuse the public on what to expect.
We used a Hotel Discount vouches, and even at that rate, value for money was only just acceptable.
Would we stay here again? Not a chance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your honest comment.

Ours is an economy hotel that serves truckers and working class customers. We have teams of technicians and servicement staying for long periods of time. They love it and the discounts we offer.

We invite you to come again and give us another opportunity to serve you.

rgds

Hal Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road

Address: 4930 Sunset Road, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road Hotel Charlotte
Super Eight Charlotte
Charlotte Super Eight
Charlotte Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.