We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun free place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center

ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center
300 East Seventh St, Charlotte, NC 28202
(704) 416-4600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 196 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A fun free place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a great place to go spend an hour or so with young children. We have not seen a show there but I heard the children's theater is nice. We will have to check one out in the Spring.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“ImaginOn! First Class exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

All done so well!!! Uptown has a first clas act that takes you through the exhibits in a fun and interactive way!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coolest. Library. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

They have computers just for kids and even a video game area. Librarys are no longer for reading. Welcome to the downfall of our generation. But, still, it's a snazzy place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“What a rainy day treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our grandchildren moved to Charlotte 6 years ago, so we have been to ImaginOn many times since they were quite little and enjoyed it each time. There is so much to do not matter how old the child may be. Now that they are older, our grandchildren love the IMAX and the special visiting shows the best. "Pirates" and "Pompeii" were memorable. Sadly we missed "Mummies;" however, my grandson says that it was great. ImaginOn is easy to get to and has plenty of easy parking or the Tram has a stop nearby.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Brilliantly creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

On our visit to Charlotte, we spent a couple of hours one morning allowing our four daughters ages 9, 5, 3, and 19 months to explore ImaginOn. Yes, it is essentially a library, but it is a wonderful library. We first played through the life-size medieval castle exhibit. Then the little ones played in the children's library section. Exploration games of various sorts are laid out on tables throughout. They could have spent all day here. Our eldest was invited to do a scavenger hunt for a prize. This was the perfect way to explore every level of the library. We saw fascinating artwork and learned about the ecological building techniques and unique architecture that make up ImaginOn. We wished we had such a place to visit regularly at home. By the way, we grabbed lunch at a delicious organic pizza place in the Market right across the street. Parking is convenient right behind ImaginOn. Check out their website for more details and theatre and program schedules.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center also viewed

 

Been to ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.