We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7925 Forest Pine Drive, Charlotte, NC 28273   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
merritt island, florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

this was a large suite, with a full size kitchen with everything you could need to cook. i was just there for one night so didn't need to use it. did not wake up in time for the free breakfast downstairs. the room was nice, but furniture had chips and showed wear. had an old fashioned tube type tv. bed was hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear ladyrider49,
Thank you for taking time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am sorry you did not get the chance to enjoy our free, full, hot breakfast with make-yourself waffles which is enjoyed by our guests every morning. I hope next time your travels brings you to Charlotte you will stay a while and enjoy all the extended stay amenities we have to offer at the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte. We look forward to your return.
All is well.

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    47
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
52
27
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the convenience of being so close to Carowinds Amusement Park. Our five day stay was one of the best we have ever experienced. Everyone from the front desk staff to housekeeping could not have been more friendly. The complimentary light dinner receptions were very much appreciated after a long day at the park. Our room was large, clean and quiet. Didn't even mind the bit of excitement as we had to evacuate the hotel due to a small incident. (The firemen were cute!!) We will definitely be staying here again when visiting the Charlotte area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sharon S,
It was a pleasure to have you with us for five days and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your very gracious review. As you know from being at our hotel, we are just a hop, skip and a jump from Carowinds and we are always happy to help you wind down your day from the excitement of the amusement park. Because we have spacious two bedroom suites with two baths that sleep up to 6 people, we are a great option for groups that are visiting Carowinds for family reunions, corporate events or bus tours. Thank you so much for visiting the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte and we look forward to seeing you again.

All is well.

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a very good place. it was not that fancy and luxurious but for that cost it was very good. They had very clean rooms and good breakfast. They also provide free wine and bear from Tuesday to Thursday in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Madhi N,
Cheers to you! Thank you so much for your excellent review. We always look forward to our weekly socials held Tuesday through Thursday, where we get the chance to meet our guests and feed them delicious appetizers, beer, wine and smiles. We are serious about being your home when you are away from home at the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte and we look forward to serving you again.

All is well.

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Yes, the property is due for a renovation, but there are reasons to give this place a try. The exemplary service at the front desk is usually not found in your typical extended stay hotel. There was the most delicious cucumber water in the lobby during the afternoon that alone makes it worth a return trip. Above par bedding, towels and service make this a good choice, but the free breakfast makes this your best choice. It included all the standard continental breakfast offerings, but also offered make-your-own waffles, eggs, sausage, oatmeal and grits. Lobby area was warm and friendly and centered around a fireplace - very inviting.

Room Tip: This hotel must be planning a renovation, so ask for a renovated room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear KMissyHMHP,
Thank you for your excellent review. I, too, love the cucumber water in the lobby and it is a wonderful surprise for our guests. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our hot, always fresh and hearty breakfast served every morning and found our rooms to be accommodating. As you mentioned, we are expecting a spectacular renovation and we cannot wait to share our new look with you. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we cannot wait to see you again.

All is well.

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My most recent visit to the Sonesta ES Suites-Charlotte was a semi-pleasant one, but I only gave it 3-stars because room service wasn't everyday, so every time I needed towels I had to get them from the front desk, garbage had to be left in the hallway along with dirty towels and it would stay there all day. Then there was the incident......unfortunately, it is still under investigation, so cannot go into details. Overall good price for a king/queen-bedroom suite!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear JPatte201,
We appreciate you choosing the Sonesta ES Suites for your recent visit to Charlotte. Please accept my sincere apologies if you did not receive housekeeping service during your stay. We provide daily room service to all our guests which includes fresh towels and removing all trash and I apologize if your room was missed. Thank you for giving us a try and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place, wonderful staff but one problem I have with hotel was the blinds. The blinds are a sheer linen and the drapes cannot be pulled closed, so if you don't want to wake up at the break of dawn I suggest using a few safety pins or bobby pins to pull the drapes shut. It worked wonders for us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear ChuckD_0851
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte. I sincerely apologize if the room you stayed in did not have blackout curtains. It is a standard in all our rooms to have them and there must have been an oversight on our part when we missed your room. We take them down on occasion for cleaning and must have failed to put them back up before your arrival. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to Charlotte and I will personally ensure you have a great room with blackout shades. Thank you for your very nice comments and I look forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

If I were looking only for a place with friendly and accommodating staff, this hotel would top the list. From front desk to management to housekeeping staff, all were friendly and took such good care of us. They have been well trained in hospitality and it shows.
The hotel itself is showing signs of age, but is being kept clean and comfortable during its phases of renovation.
Our room was adequately furnished for an extended stay, although we did not need to use kitchen facilities.
The breakfasts were hardy and the evening receptions easily took the place of an evening meal.
We will certainly return on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear jlleigh
Wow! What a wonderful review. Thank you. There are many great things we offer at the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte including fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor pool, complimentary hot breakfast served daily as well as a complimentary evening social Tuesday-Thursday serving appetizers, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities and have a memorable experience with us. Thank you for your patience through our exterior renovations as we refresh and update our hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your return.

Always as your service,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte

Address: 7925 Forest Pine Drive, Charlotte, NC 28273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte located in the Arrowood Business District offers a choice of three spacious suite accommodations: studio, one bedroom and two bedroom/two bath. An extended stay hotel with suites featuring well-appointed kitchens, including microwave, coffee maker and apartment size refrigerator with ice maker. Separate living and work areas come complete with Complimentary high-speed internet, dual line speaker phone, data port and personalized voice mail. We offer a premium cable package with over 65 total channels available. When you visit Charlotte, NC, the home of the Carolina Panthers, Charlotte Bobcats and NASCAR, you will find our hotel conveniently located to Bank of America Stadium, the Charlotte Coliseum, Carowinds, Ray's Splash Planet, US National Whitewater Center and Lowes Motor Speedway. Our on-site convenience store, laundry room and business center are all open around the clock. When it's time to unwind we offer a variety of options including our fitness center, outdoor sports court, heated pool, barbecue pavilion, electronic entertainment and even a library. A deluxe Continental breakfast (including hot items) is included complimentary daily. We also offer a complimentary evening three evenings per week. Pets are welcome with a $100 non-refundable pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Arrowood Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.