We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay while visiting children for the weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7925 Forest Pine Drive, Charlotte, NC 28273   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Gloucester, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to stay while visiting children for the weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

If I were looking only for a place with friendly and accommodating staff, this hotel would top the list. From front desk to management to housekeeping staff, all were friendly and took such good care of us. They have been well trained in hospitality and it shows.
The hotel itself is showing signs of age, but is being kept clean and comfortable during its phases of renovation.
Our room was adequately furnished for an extended stay, although we did not need to use kitchen facilities.
The breakfasts were hardy and the evening receptions easily took the place of an evening meal.
We will certainly return on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear jlleigh
Wow! What a wonderful review. Thank you. There are many great things we offer at the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte including fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor pool, complimentary hot breakfast served daily as well as a complimentary evening social Tuesday-Thursday serving appetizers, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities and have a memorable experience with us. Thank you for your patience through our exterior renovations as we refresh and update our hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your return.

Always as your service,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    47
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
52
27
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were very pleased with our visit at the Sonesta ES! As our first trip ever to Charlotte, the staff was very helpful in greeting us and giving us maps to find our way around, even suggesting the best places to eat and visit. Our room was very clean and cozy! We even booked an extra night! Very pleased with our experience at the Sonesta!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sarah C
It was a great pleasure having you visit with us. Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are located just 10 minutes from Uptown Charlotte where you can find delicious food and cuisine from all over the world. I hope you took us up on some suggestions of some of our favorites and hopefully this will not be the first and last time you visit the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte. Our friendly staff and cozy accommodations will be waiting for your return. Thank you again for giving us a chance.

At your service,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at a Sonesta ES Suites, and we're very fairably impressed! The breakfasts were always fresh, hot and delicious. We found all of the staff friendly and helpful, particularly Marty, the cook. The room was okay, not in the best condition but more than worth the price. Great location right off of 1-77. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear C W
Thank you so much for giving the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte a try for the first time. Team members like Marty make me very proud to work here and I will surely pass on your compliments so she knows that our guests appreciate an always fresh, hot and delicious breakfast served complimentary each morning. I understand that you found our rooms to be just okay and understandably so. There is more work for us to do to refresh our rooms and our goal is to better each and every time you return. I am happy to hear that you will return to visit with us again and we look forward to serving you.

Warm regards,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labanon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Despite a friendly staff this place is awful. The carpets, walls and lampshades are all stained and dirty. Our mattress was old, I think it was purchased the same time the 20 year old tv and VCR were purchased. Breakfast buffet consisted of some kind of synthetic egg product and fruit that left us asking "what is that?". Do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear MBFLabanon,
Please accept my most sincere apology for your experience at the Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte. This was certainly not us at our best and we are determined to do much better. I would like you to know that my new team is committed to cleanliness, quality service and comfortable accommodations for all our guests. In cases where we fall short we will work quickly to respond. We are also anticipating a complete renovation in 2014 and hope you will come back to experience our reimaging. In the meantime, should your travels bring you back to Charlotte, please give me a call and the opportunity to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We came here and had a One Bedroom Suite as we had our nieces with us for a weekend at Carowinds. (Which was a short drive away.) The staff are very friendly and will help you with any of your needs. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar included scrambled and hard boiled eggs, turkey bacon, grits, waffles, fruit, danish, cereal, juice and coffee. We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast buffet. So much better than the usual continental breakfast. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Again, we had a one bedroom that slept the four of us comfortably with a King bed and pull out couch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear beaufortgirl1959,
Thank you for your great review and thank you for noticing our efforts at revamping our breakfast buffet. We know this is an important part of the experience for our guests and we worked hard to come up with a healthy, appetizing selection. As you may know, Carowinds is open all summer long and since we are only 8 minutes away we book up really quickly over the summer. I hope you will find another opportunity for a weekend trip and come back to see us. Thank you again for visiting the Sonesta ES Suites.

Warm regards,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I got a deal for cheap on a discount website because all of my favorite Charlotte hotels were crazy expensive or sold out that night. When I arrived at noon the folks at Sonesta were so nice to let me check in early and get some sleep. About the "suite" itself- it was not clean. The paint on the walls was so badly marked I couldn't believe it. There was a chunk of drywall missing from one the walls. Let's just say that they're due for a serious makeover. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that has been renovated. If there are none when you go I recommend finding an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear IceCold40,
I am glad you were able to take advantage of some promotional rates and specials that we run periodically at the Sonesta ES Suites in Charlotte. I am disappointed to learn that our cleanliness and quality were not up to standard and for that I apologize. We are committed to raising our standards and to be more consistent in providing quality accommodations for all our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Charlotte, please give us another opportunity to serve you better. I appreciate your compliments regarding our friendly staff and will encourage them to continue to put our guests first. I look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte

Address: 7925 Forest Pine Drive, Charlotte, NC 28273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte located in the Arrowood Business District offers a choice of three spacious suite accommodations: studio, one bedroom and two bedroom/two bath. An extended stay hotel with suites featuring well-appointed kitchens, including microwave, coffee maker and apartment size refrigerator with ice maker. Separate living and work areas come complete with Complimentary high-speed internet, dual line speaker phone, data port and personalized voice mail. We offer a premium cable package with over 65 total channels available. When you visit Charlotte, NC, the home of the Carolina Panthers, Charlotte Bobcats and NASCAR, you will find our hotel conveniently located to Bank of America Stadium, the Charlotte Coliseum, Carowinds, Ray's Splash Planet, US National Whitewater Center and Lowes Motor Speedway. Our on-site convenience store, laundry room and business center are all open around the clock. When it's time to unwind we offer a variety of options including our fitness center, outdoor sports court, heated pool, barbecue pavilion, electronic entertainment and even a library. A deluxe Continental breakfast (including hot items) is included complimentary daily. We also offer a complimentary evening three evenings per week. Pets are welcome with a $100 non-refundable pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Arrowood Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.