We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine staying anywhere else Uptown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   404 S Mint St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Third Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Can't imagine staying anywhere else Uptown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was blown away by the great location and staff at this hotel. First, it's in a great location if you are interested in taking in a game (Panthers, or AAA baseball at BB&T Park). It's across the street from the baseball stadium and although I didn't go it looked like a great way to spend an evening.

There is an enormous park right across the street also which was great since we were traveling with our dog and needed to take her for a walk. We also were able to walk to several bars/restaurants within a 5 min walk.

The breakfast was outstanding and the room was quiet, not the most updated hip decor but it was very clean and quiet. That's usually all I ask for.

Also, on check in we had an outstanding young lady help out and she was one of the nicest front desk assistants i've ever dealt with. I'm not sure of her name but if management reviews this I hope they take the time to find out and thank her. It was the night of 07/06/14.

I would absolutely stay here again, even if it was a bit higher priced than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us a review. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this month. There were 2 females at the desk that night so I have praised both of them (didn't want to leave one out). It really meant alot to them that you singled them out for outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    79
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
65
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for a concert at the PNC arena, and it was a great location. Restaurants within walking distance, great sushi place around the corner. Hotel is a skyscraper, unlike most other Residence inns. staff were excellent, and very helpful. Room was gorgeous, large, comfortable, and a great city view with floor to ceiling windows. Parking lot was right there, which was convenient, but there was a fee. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A suitable venue for our wedding/family gathering in lovely Charlotte. Location perfect for downtown shopping or Stadium visit. Parking shared with Stadium..immediately adjacent to hotel. Unfortunately, no valet parking. Friendly staff and accommodating service in the lobby/bar... a bit cramped quarters especially at breakfast which was included and was a bit better than usual hotel breakfastes. The shock came when entering the very spacious room... one small queen-sized bed! Instead of the sofa another bed would have been more appropriate. If you want to use the sofa-bed you have to make it up yourself! Definitely Not for big people. What a shame at an otherwise top hotel. Front desk very nice especiallyStacey Leach who was very accommodating with a bill mix up. Evidently a renovation is forthcoming in 2016.. hopefully with two beds!

Room Tip: ask to have sofa-bed made up upon your arrival... you'll need it in addition to the single small...
See more room tips
Green Features: asked if we were willing to stay with the towels another day, to save on water!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and the honest review. We actually don't have many king beds due to the additional furniture. We are sorry that we have only a chosen few large beds as every room has a sleeper sofa couch, recliner chair and work desk and kitchen leaving room for only a queen bed as a rule. I'm glad that the sleeper sofa helped with you bedding arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

have stayed there 3 times and I am going back next week, hopefully I get that great city view again, bathrooms are nice and the whirlpool tubs are good.
The Room service for food is just ok, not the best , I ordered a French dip sandwich last time and they forgot the dip!
But all in all you cant go wrong, and the staff is nice too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for becoming a regular at Ri Uptown! We really appreciate it and can only hope to keep making positive impressions.We apologize about the "dip".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here. Everything was very nice, except the sofa. From the outside it definitely looked like it was time to be retired. Then we put the sheets and blanket on the sofa bed and we were totally shocked. The springs and coils were right at the surface of the mattress. It was late so I had to sleep on it---miserably. Maybe got 3 hrs. of sleep. I am surprised that it appears that staff does not check these mattresses from time to time. Should have been replaced several years ago.

The hotel was very nice, clean and well kept (except for the sofa bed). It was in a great location for enjoying uptown Charlotte. It is in between the football and baseball stadiums, so there was some noise from traffic, even up on the 7th floor. Also, we made the mistake of taking a room very close to the elevator---the dinging sound from the elevator continued on and off until 3:15 AM with groups getting off and talking very loud in the hall.

I would stay there again, but would not stay near the elevators and would check to see if the sofa bed in the room was fairly new. I would check it first before taking the room. Breakfast was good and in a nice large room with a patio off of it. No pool, but a nice exercise room.

My daughter said her queen size bed in the bedroom was comfortable.

Room Tip: Check sofa bed mattress when you arrive in the room if someone will be sleeping on it. Get a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area. We are due for a renovation next year and the sleeper sofas will be retired. I am sorry that we did not get a chance to provide one of our egg crate mattress toppers to help with the comfort. We do replace the mattresses as we are made aware of these issues and we will have our team focus on replacing as needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed two nights 5/31 & 6/1/2014.
Nice location and property.
Upon return around 6PM on 6/1/2014 we opened the door to find the room had not been cleaned.
Called the front desk and asked for towels. Then had to call for more coffee, then found a broken corkscrew. Upon check out, I stated that we did not receive housekeeping and the only response was "I am so sorry". Sorry only goes so far.

Room Tip: First four floors look at a parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I was very sorry to hear that you did not receive houskeeping service. We will investigate and hopefully be able to prevent this from happening in the future. Please call me personally as I would like to apologize and offer restitution.

David Love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stated at the Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown for two nights and were satisfied with the accommodations. Our room was clean, as was the hotel in general. Also nice was the shuttle service, which will take you to any destination within a two mile distance. Had we stayed longer, we would have appreciated the large fridge in the room. One suggestion, ask for a room away from the construction noise because it is very loud.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and we hope to have to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown

Address: 404 S Mint St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#23 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#42 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Photo of a standard Studio room. All rooms have fully furnished kitchens, couches, reclining chairs, work desks and more. Renovated in 2008 and 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.