We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6309 Banner Elk Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #68 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    164
    90
    27
    15
See reviews for
137
99
42
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

...was how often the heater would kick on and run. It would run for four minutes and shut off for four minutes. This repeated all night long. I guess that wouldn't be bad if the heater didn't sound like a giant industrial fan was not 3 feet from the bed. And often times make this loud clicking sound. Let's just say it kept us up most of the night.
We booked this hotel based on the reviews from tripadvisor and because it seemed it was the only one in the area we were looking that had a private jacuzzi tub. We were sadly disappointed. This is an average hotel. Not bad for the money. The decor is interesting. We stayed in a queen bed hot tub room. There are sparkles on the ceiling and a dark tinted mirror that runs on two walls. The lighting is odd. The only light we could use near the bed was a fluorescent light mounted over the bed. It reminded me of a light you would find over a hospital bed.
The mattress may be new but is very hard. Beware if that doesn't work for you. I was fine with it but my wife was numb by morning.
The jacuzzi tub is in the room, not in the bathroom, which was fine for us. It fits two but is smaller than some other in room jacuzzis we have been in.
We got to breakfast at 9am. It ends at 9:30 and there were no more eggs. I was told that they were out and would not be replenishing them. The eggs would have been the best part of the breakfast.
There was a small refrigerator in the room and a microwave. Not sure if that is standard for all rooms.
There is a nice flat-screen TV and HBO is free.
The room was clean and the carpet seemed relatively new.
And, Finally a hotel with a GREAT shower head!! I would have to say that is the best part of the room.
Overall, average for the price.
Apparently there are a lot of thefts of room amenities. There is a nice reminder that if you take something, you bought it.
It was nice to find a no smoking room that seemed to actually be a no smoking room.
It is right off, and easily accessible from the highway.

Room Tip: Unless you really want the hot tub, don't spend the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the 6th year we have stayed at this property and every year it seems to get better. This year we noticed an upgrade in the carpeting, flat panel television in the room and new mattresses - the pillow-top is very comfortable! Owner and staff (seems to be the same staff for many years now - a good sign in my book!) remember us from year to year, making us feel like valued guests. Breakfast is standard for this type of facility - we prefer to walk across the street to Denny's for a full hot breakfast. Quiet location. Nicely located just off I-77 for easy access to many of Charlotte's attractions and activities.

Room Tip: Suites have ample room for a family or extended stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice already on my twice-yearly trip from Binghamton, NY to Florida and have been very satisfied with the price and service. It is right off the highway which is very convenient The breakfast is good, standard hotel breakfast. The beds are comfortable and the staff is very nice.

The best part about the hotel is that when I left my portable hard-drive in the room, I called up and they mailed it to me. True honesty!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGH POINT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My stay was okay other visitors were a little loud considering it was just one night. Motel did not have enough lighting on the front side of the facilitiy. I don't know if it was a over sight on the desk at the mirror some cup stains were left I assume from previous guest. But over all I had a good night stay. The Desk Clerk was very nice and new alot about the area and asked if I needed any assistance for anything to let him know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake

Address: 6309 Banner Elk Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#61 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Inn And Suites Charlotte Northlake
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.