We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property - easy access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6309 Banner Elk Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights; Save 20%
Ranked #56 of 168 hotels in Charlotte
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great property - easy access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We really like staying at this property and have been doing so for the last 4 years. It is tucked away behind a gas station on a pretty busy main street. The rooms are surprisingly quiet for it's location. There is easy walking access to several chain restaurants (Denny's & Waffle House are across the street) and fast food establishments. A short drive takes you to the interstate and downtown Charlotte - heading north takes you to Lowe's Speedway and *lots* of other activities and shopping.

Remember - this is Tobacco Country - so smoking is still allowed - a ground floor room is best

Room Tip: Ground floor is best - this is the South, so smoking is still allowed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    94
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
88
63
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel was clean and the rate was fair. The complimentary breakfast has fruit, bread (for toasting), bagels, fresh waffles (self-made), hard-boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, cereals and of course coffee, tea, juice and milk. We arrived in the evening and left early in the morning so I cannot comment on the neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Outdoor pool was nice and clean, staff was excellent, free continental breakfast with waffles was a nice change. Close to downtown Charlotte and the interstate. No complaints will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Springs, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night as we attended the National Association of Free Will Baptists annual conference in Charlotte, NC. The lobby of the hotel looked in really nice condition and the hotel was clean. The room was very simple and very small, just large enough for a queen bed and not much more. The hotel still uses the old box-style TVs in the room, so no HD. The room and hotel is equipped with wireless wi-fi and an extremely small desk to utilize. The continental breakfast was ok with offerings such as cereal, Belgian waffles, hard boiled eggs, toast, English muffins, coffee, milk, and juice. The housekeeping staff seemed to be working very hard, and the front desk clerk named David did fine. There is a nice outdoor pool, but we didn't use it. All-in-all, a simple and quick one night stay. If you need space, upgrade to a suite as this room is cramped with only two people.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite for just a few bucks more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had our group for our family reunion stay at this hotel the weekend of July 15-17, 2011 and they said the hotel was nice. Not complaints from the family members who stayed. This hotel didnt have a meeting room for our normal meet n greet and the manager allow us to meet in the area where the breakfast is served in the mornings. Mr Rohit R. Patel was wonderful. He worked with me throughout the time the families were reserving there hotel rooms. Whatever we needed he accommodated us and this is rare. Thank you Mr Patel for being such a great manager and your staff was so nice and help us out alot also. If you are passing through Charlotte on I-77 exit 16B Sunset Rd and need to stop over try this wonderful hotel. It was clean, nicely kept up and served free continent breakfast which included waffles and boiled eggs. If we do another Family Reunion we will be sure this use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I was checking in. There was two ladies at the front desk. One I think was the manager she was yelling at the other telling her about some mistakes she had made. I think this is unplesant an employer should do these things in an office not where others can hear this other all the hotel was clean rate was good

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This was our first stay at a Microtel and we were pleased with the quality of the rooms, servicies and amenities, including breakfast, were all fine and as advertised. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Great value and quality.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake

Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Inn And Suites Charlotte Northlake
Microtel Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake Hotel
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel
Address: 6309 Banner Elk Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#54 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#56 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#56 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.