We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 E Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 25%
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent location to my business destination. The hotel was within walking distance to practically everywhere downtown. Downtown Charlotte, by the way, is absolutely fantastic. Several parks, museums, shopping and restaurants are nearby. Also, the Little Sugar Creek Greenway path is close by for jogging or walking.
The rooms are comfortable and well kept. The bed is as nice as I've had in a business hotel too. The staff are attentive and always helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the NASCAR HOF. The morning sunrise is reflected off the buildings in spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    115
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
56
80
17
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival our check in was very quick and Tom was very helpful and knowledgeable. It was my best check in experience. He exceeded my expectations. I was very impressed with the location and free shuttle service. The hotel itself was very beautiful. The room, very clean and comfortable with a spectacular view. This will be my hotel for Uptown Charlotte from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A lovely hotel right next to the Nascar Hall of Fame! It was very convenient to the Charlotte Convention Center. A great location to downtown area! I was impressed with the whole hotel experience at The Hilton Garden Uptown!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at. I've only had one issue and I've stayed here several times. Be sure to check everything to ensure it's working properly when you go into your room. My hot tub (whirlpool) didn't work properly (some of the jets didn't work), which was dissapointing. After an evening of golfing, I was definately looking forward to some relaxation. But other than that, the stay was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great room, though we missed the entrance to the parking deck on the first go round, and the parking fee isn't included in the cost of the room. Room service was prompt and courteous. The Mac N Cheese sounded gourmet or at least home made, and looked more like easy Mac. The chocolate desserts were fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms are clean but small. The beds seemed to be comfortable but corners were cut everywhere from the thin walls to the older carpet.

They should not advertise they have a fitness center. Three machines stacked on top of another in the space of a closet with a deflated Swiss ball does not qualify as a fitness center. The pool is the size of a Jacuzzi with a gland problem.

Breakfast was a free for all. In my previous visits to Hilton Garden Inns, the staff would take your order and give it to the chef. Not here. Stand in line with everyone else in a six foot square area trying to speak to two cooks who speak broken English at best. Let me know how it works out for you. The staff in the breakfast area rarely appear and you're on your own to get coffee, juice, etc I don't know why they even bother to have anyone other than busboys.

The bar is ok and was busy; the bartenders very friendly. However, prices are high even for a hotel bar and the selection is poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, professional and pleasant.
Location is close to the city center, but the hotel is somehow old.
Rooms are ok and clean, but noisy. Mine was close to the main road, in front of the Convention center and noisy all the night long! Air conditioning pack was on the roof next to my window....
To avoid is you need to rest...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.